You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In defense of the downvote option: not having it is the actual censorship

in #voting8 years ago (edited)

You clearly want the option.

And you clearly don't want me (or anybody else) to have the option. That's quite oppressive, isn't? You feel entitled to block my options (because I might misbehave) while you deny me the right to block your payout (even though it comes from funds we share). Where is the logic in this? How come your fear trump my freedom?

It's amazing how this mindset works.

You even say that I want to "exert control" when actually it's you who want to exert control over me and deny me the option that I say I need. I call it "control" because you want to limit my options, as you clearly don't trust me (or anybody else) to have the downvote tool in my hands - I'll do stupid things with it.

This is exactly how governments perceive reality: people are irresponsible and need to be guided and protected, otherwise they'll hurt themselves. The last thing a government want to see is people acting in a responsible way.

Regarding my wish to exert control - it's not about "what another person can make with their work". All I want to do is execute my Steem Power (by upvoting everything else but X) and if any control is involved in it, it's about controlling our shared funds, not other people's income. If we had unlimited resources - then yes, you'd have a valid point.

As I read through this post any sympathy for the suggestion dissipated.

Your lack of sympathy is irrelevant here. Only these two aspects matter: some people wanting it and the devs willing to implement it. This feature does not take anything away from you. It might affect you but you need to accept it, as this is the nature of the game when we share limited resources.

Sort:  

Maybe you need to accept that you are not necessarily going to get your wants met unless you own the platform.

The fact is, there are a lot of irresponsible people who will go to great lengths to claim their own reasonable responsible approach until their want is granted. Then the egomaniac comes out.

You currently have the option of upvoting what you want and ignoring the rest. Live and let live.

You forgot about the third option, the flag, which turns legitimate motivation (the desire to lower a payout) into misbehavior. So you prefer people to misbehave than face the truth that some people think you've been overpaid. I prefer the opposite.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53