You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In defense of the downvote option: not having it is the actual censorship

in #voting8 years ago (edited)

Currently I have only two options:

  • suppress my feelings and do nothing
  • embrace my feelings and abuse the abuse flag (pan intended) and then feel bad about it (I've hurt the author's reputation and added my bit to the confusion about the flag's meaning)

You have at least one other option: Accept your feelings and move on. Put that post out of your mind. Focus instead on creating content that only you can, or on consuming other people's posts that you do enjoy.

Sort:  

This is exactly the superior attitude I've been trying to unmask: you tell me to accept it because you know better what's good for me and others.

Here is the paradox: you might be right and actually accepting it is the best way to deal with it. But I need to be able to choose this option myself, instead of you forcing me into this option by taking away the choice.

you tell me to accept it

I'm correcting your enumeration of the options open to you because you missed out an important one. I'm not telling you to do anything.

instead of you forcing me into this option

I posted a comment explaining one additional way of dealing with the experience you described. If you believe this is 'forcing' you to do anything then I don't believe we share enough common ground to talk productively. Best of luck.

You've added no third option, as difference between suppressing and accepting is very subtle and indistinguishable in this case.

difference between suppressing and accepting is very subtle and indistinguishable in this case.

It's as clear as day to me, and I think the world-at large agrees. See this study for instance: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23910791 The two terms mean quite different things.

If the tool doesn't exist, then the option to use the tool doesn't exist. This is in the domain of "physical force" because the default is non-existence of any choice that is dependent on a tool. Non-existence of a choice implies "no choice" or "force," in the sense it is used here. It's not coercion, but it's like standing at the bottom of a cliff and not having any tool necessary to get to the top of the cliff.

Since this forum is a cliff climbing tool in the prior analogy, feedback can improve it by suggesting better features that would help us get where we're going.

If the tool doesn't exist, then the option to use the tool doesn't exist. This is in the domain of "physical force"

lol come on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54