You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trying out vote-bying

I am still not sure. I will probably do it when I feel greatly undervalued (which I am not by the way. I have many great contacts here that have done a lot for me). I guess the problem is only part technology (have you btw seen this proposal from @trafalgar?). A community with investors in the top will never promote quality even though quality is paramount for the investment (ie. the future of Steem), so building a middle class of hard working people on Steemit should be the main objective. Right now the rich get richer by doing things that are bad for the platform and for every second their power is increased. Steemit is just doing what we see everywhere else in the real world. I have powered up, but my yield will be lower than the ones who are richer than me. Our best hope is that they leave the platform with their winnings...

Sort:  

I have seen @trafalgar's proposal, but I don't have strong feelings on it. @svamiva also mentioned in a comment that golos will be having a Nov. 22 hardfork where they switch to allowing authors to set their own curation reward split on each post. I'm eager to see how that works out. Unfortunately, I don't speak Russian, so I can't try it out first hand.

Right now the rich get richer by doing things that are bad for the platform and for every second their power is increased.

The sad part is that even the rich don't get richer. The value in ranchorelaxo's wallet has dropped from 8 million to less than 1 million. Whatever haejin might be pulling out of curation rewards, I'm pretty sure he hasn't made up for that loss. Same with freedom and other people delegating to bidbots. It's something like the tragedy of the commons, I guess. Eventually, I can only hope that the low (and falling) prices will drive out the failing strategies and shift enough STEEM into the hands of people who will use their influence more wisely to attract that middle class that we need to raise its value.

Yes, grabbing for control ruins them. The let's-eat-all-the-food-on-the-island approach is stupid at best, so yes, kind of the tragedy of the commons. I have been having the same thoughts as you, that a crisis might run the investors of the grazing fields... but who knows what is going to happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65