You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Concerns With Vote Buying Projects

in #votebuying7 years ago

My concern about these types of things is disclosure. As long as the “service” is disclosing this as a comment I do not take issue with it. It creates transparency, and it’s an interesting business model. A lot of people use this as an advertisement in getting attention to their post. Others use it as a way to reward an outstanding post they felt was undervalued. While even others use these types of things as a reward for a contest. Many interesting uses the community gets from these types of things. These people have found a way to add enough value to warrant what they are charging.

I can start to see this type of thing be an issue when there are hundreds of accounts doing this and those who can pay to play will. Until then it’s just something to keep an eye on.

Sort:  

Well you already see users that just write a few sentences and throw a pic and use these types of services to vote their posts. I do see the it helping others get noticed and reward contests but it is money we're talking. People can just put up a photo or write a few words and pay all these services at once to get a vote.

Yea we'll have to see how it goes.

Mostly definitely and then I remove my follow hehe. How many people are investing in SP just to self-vote only, or to run a service like these? That I find to be a more interesting thing to know more about. At what point will people start flagging because someone is just spamming out content to take advantage of these services. I feel there will be middle ground somewhere and the community steps in and deals with it. Just likes the people who spam out comments in their own blog just to upvote them all. With the last hard-fork it also slowed down things like this as well. These services had to readjust, and maybe that’s the way to resolving out things like this if the community speaks out against it.

Is there cool down on how fast you can upvote after upvoting?

Well said.

Yea since the latest HF, you only have 10 votes perday till your vote power drains dramatically if voting at 100%. The recharge time was 20% every 24hrs I think.

I understand that part but do I need wait 20 secs or 30 secs between doing upvotes if I have the voting power to do so?

should only be 3 seconds between voting. You usually see a notification when you vote too fast.

So there are two possible solutions down the road at least then. 1. Increasing the cooldown between upvotes. 2. Increasing the minimum the slider can go down to say 5%. While I don’t necessary agree with these those are two extreme ways of dealing with this if it gets out of hand.

Don't think we could increase the time between votes, They would have to change the transaction time since when you vote, it's a transaction and the Steem blockchain has a 3 second transaction time and I don't think anyone wants to make it slower.

Increasing the minimum the slider can go down to say 5%.

I'm not sure if I understand what you're saying. The slider can go down to 1% and you can vote down to 0.05% straight on the blockchain...

I don't understand how or if this is a solution for anything...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55