You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Do We Vote?

in #vote7 years ago

We vote to affect change, no point in getting annoyed at the system and then not voting, its the ultimate sanction for a non performing politician, and as they say you know democracy is working because no one sector of society is happy and complaint free, so no one class has it all its own way.

Loved the post!

Sort:  

Couldn't have said it better myself - thanks and happy steem voting :)

I disagree- I've voted in every election local, state, general since I was 18 (almost 50 now) until I came to the conclusion that on many levels our government has become corrupted to it's core. When we vote we grant our consent to be governed by whomever we vote for. I no longer consent to being governed by this corrupted system therefore I did not cast a vote in the past election and I have every right to gripe about the corruption and do often. Voting= consenting to be governed by a corrupted system- I withdrew my consent!

Unfortunately you have to use your vote to try and affect change, non participation is tacit approval as the other side registers more votes, I totally get what you are saying, but it just means your legitimate voice and opinion is lost.

voting changes little with systemic corruption entrenched. Example- let's assume Trump in't just another minion puppet controlled by the overlords- let's assume he is pure of heart and ran for POTUS because he truly wants to make America great again. You think he's going to be able to accomplish in DC? Look at the deepstate attacks he endures daily- even POS Republicans like McLame, Graham and McDonnell who bad mouth Trump constantly?

Secondly there are other ways, and IMHO more effective ways to evoke change and I'm definitely doing that- please don't equate not voting to apathy or inaction.

Of cours I wouldn't all I am saying is that to keep a system healthy you engage on all fronts, that's what I beleive, but you are more than entitled to your views always, I was brought up to beleive to vote, you don't and that's fair enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70