UK Election Thoughts

in #vote7 years ago

This is a little off topic for me but I want to share a thought I had this morning. Today I woke up pretty late and soon remembered it was voting day.

I’m embarrassed to say it but my first thought was ‘oh no I can’t be bothered maybe I won’t make the effort’.

I had to check myself and rationalise what I was thinking. How dare I think about wasting the opportunity to have my say in how my country is run? How dare I throw the efforts of brave women in history back in their faces by not even bothering to use the gift they earned for me and women across the world?

votes-women.jpg

After this brief moment of selfishness and apathy I’m heading out to go and vote in around an hour.

I don’t want to get into who is voting for who because, while that IS important, the main reason I’m writing this is to emphasise how important it is that we vote in the first place. If everybody who can vote does vote then the result of the election is going to be so much more representative of what this country wants than if many people decide not to bother.

I am a woman and there are so many times in history and places in the world, even today, where I would not be allowed to vote. So, it may feel like your one vote isn’t going to matter in the grand scheme of things but use it.

Use the voice that you’re entitled to people and make it heard!

Thanks for reading! Upvote and resteem to inspire those around you to use their vote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52