Vote

in #vote7 years ago (edited)



For Yourself, Or Pay Someone To Vote For You


........................................................................................................................................................................................


or

Which will you do?


During the discussion
@valued-customer says :

  • The reason I think it's a bad thing is that it reduces Steemit to nothing more than finance, or at least directs the rewards to tricks and gimmicks, rather than well written insights.
    .
    You have at least had a look at the white paper, and may be familiar with the direct statements of the devs that such is a threat to Steemit.
    .
    Such shenanigans reduce the payouts you receive for your excellent writing, for example. There is a pool of fresh Steem minted each day, and payouts are divvied up out of it. The more that is delivered to scams, manipulations, and the like, the less available for content creators.

@stevescoins says:

  • I have to agree with you thoughts here, but I don't like that it comes down to systems manipulation.
    .
    It seems that so much of the reward pool is taken by clique-voting, and that another big chunk of it is taken in the schemes that you talk about.

@sabrin514 says:

  • I don't have agree with bots having the power to vote. Bots voting diminishes quality control, especially paid bot votes. I don't mind bots that are for functional reason as long as they cannot vote.
    .
    Self-voting is an iffy one. My votes are only worth like $0.03 and if I put heart into a post, I sure as heck am going to upvote myself especially when my posts earn like $0.012 total and I see posts are very questionable quality often a single paragraph voted at $20.00 and over.
    .
    I do agree it is annoying when people come to your article and don't up vote and just leave a comment and then upvote their own comments. While I can understand someone upvoting their own article that they put time into, upvoting a few sentence comment seems like a skeezy way to earn money with minimal effort.

@rebeccabe says:

  • I kind of think like you do. Best to voice it now.. and well I am developing my skills in different areas I can use out of Steemit. So it works out well, however if no one sees my post it is very disheartening. It is like why did I put it in here if no one is going to read it.
    .
    Then I can go to a post making fair amount of steem money..not whale money but good money, hope you are still with me. Here is the punch line: I look and they got all kinds of votes and made money but few views. What is that about? No one saw theirs either. I am confused.

I'm confused too. In fact I've just about decided that it's above my paygrade, but I have some thoughts. The Devs went to great lengths attempting to limit one account per person. It didn't work out but at what cost? Did those who have multiple accounts get them for free or was there some (great) cost involved?

The whales are whales for a rea$son. They shelled out BIG bux to get all of that SteemPower.

$$$ is the thing. Whales (investors?) buying IN to Steemit made the price go UP. If not for people buying Steem the price would be low. It's that old Supply and Demand thing. Repeat...when someone buys IN...the price goes UP. Doesn't that help each and everyone of us? When people invest tens or hundreds of THOUSANDS of dollars...shouldn't they be allowed a return on their investment?

As for 'bots ..

Destroy all Bots


oh...er....moving on...

One more thang.

If the Devs wanted to eliminate Self Voting it wouldn't be hard. A tweak of the code would be all that's needed to prevent an account for voting for itself...either for a post or for a comment.

The way I see it I got a good thing going here. I'm making money (not a lot, but a little) that I wasn't making before I found Steemit. I'm not sure why I should care if other people have found a way to make more, or to put it another way.



.
For more news, views, rants, raves and
STORIES
.
FOLLOW ME

@everittdmickey

Sort:  

I have railed against auto-voters, self-voters, syndicate-voters, it doesn't change anything. People are free to choose what behavior they want to exhibit. I'm mildly disappointed that Steemit isn't the manor on the hill that I first thought it was. As I learned the platform, I was convinced that it was going to reward hard work and consistency, it seems that way, but kinda isn't.

Granted, every nickel I make off Steemit is a nickel I didn't have before. No complaints that I have a decent bit of steem that would not be possible without Steemit, but it would be nice if the gaming the system could be cleaned up. Decentralized or not.

I've come to think that every system can be gamed.

Every system CAN be gamed, but you can weight it- to be gamed in certain ways.

Exactly my thoughts, so no point repeating them ! (except i do up vote myself sometimes) It can get a little demoralizing'

have a vote instead!

yes it was a good discussion to follow. I'm not technical so I never read the white paper. In fact I only learned what a white paper was from discussion on steemit.

I attempted to read the white paper once.
I lost the will to live part way thru.
I didn't think I was gonna make it..
...if not for coffee and ceegars I wouldn't have survived.

um...OK...vote for me? I'm too lazy to give this steemit a real shot...

your gif game is on point tonight

if a picture is worth a thousand words...what's an animation worth?

at least one chipotle burrito

wow nice post I like it

You can't get rid of Auto-voters or payouts will drop drastically. I do not have time to create quality posts and the also go around a read 50 different post to vote on. My entire life would be Steemit which it really already is just creating images and retouching them and then posting several times a day.

I know many others are in the same position and feel the same. And honestly without people autovoting me I doubt I'd even be able to keep posting because the income would be so unreliable. In fact I think Steemit should have an Auto-voter built in.

I Auto-vote people that I believe put out quality content consistently and I feel everyone else should also do it that way.

Let's be honest a lot of whales just vote for each other Steemit is very cliquey, so I'm for anyway a person that is creating quality content can get votes, even if they are buying them. The qualifier is the must be putting out quality work they created beyond that I could care less how they get votes.

What I don't like to see is people producing crap borrowed or stolen content basically Facebook Style Posts and asking me to trade votes with them. If a person is producing quality content I'll be happy to support them if I like what they are producing. I prefer they also support me but really the content is what matters most.

If my followers are upvoting me with a good % upvote and commenting I very often upvote their comments. But I don't like people posting non-sense generic comments and asking me to follow and upvote crap content.

I put a lot of work into my photography which is basically my posts, I even have been doing tutorial videos. So I expect others to actually put some effort in also.

As always mate, you produce great stuff. Thanks for the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62820.16
ETH 2438.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69