I pick up trash

in #volunteerism7 years ago

It's true, I pick up trash.

No, not at bars, late at night - & please don't refer to humans as trash ... ar-ar

I enjoy spending an hour or two, walking through our beautiful city park, nabbing trash with my trusty pikstik

SpringTrash.jpg

Not only have I been able to keep our park mostly refuse free, I've learned and / or remembered a few valuable lessons.

  1. Keep it relaxed.
    I'm diligent, but not to the point of wearing myself out, sliding over into the uptight zone. Similar to meditation, I'll watch the distracting thoughts fly by. Thoughts about what other people might be thinking, or about feeling frustrated at people littering.

  2. Don't focus on hot spots.
    There's a group of wayward young folk, who like to hang out and litter indiscriminately , in "their" park. I'm certain I cannot take them on my own ... Just kidding! At first I spoke to them, made friends, asked nicely about not trashing the place, and when that didn't work, I just avoid the spots they hang out in. Maybe one of these days they'll realize. If not, S'okay by me! SO much better than getting frustrated and losing faith in humanity. Besides, less work will make lightly littered areas cleaner and produce almost immediate results.

  3. Pace yourself
    No need to rush. It's a volunteer gig. Take your time, do whatever quality of job you want, and don't hurt yourself, m'kay? Any bit of trash removal you do, is a bonus for us all.

  4. Whistle or hum
    This is key. Let yourself enjoy the space that you are improving. Often I find myself moved to whistling or humming, heck, I belted out some Otis Redding yesterday, so you never know what inspiration might strike you - but go with it. Allow yourself to be happy. It freaks me out most of the time. Like, if I'm happy, something ultra-terrible will happen. IDK, that's just me. So I go with whistling and feeling productive and happy.

  5. Keep your eyes open
    So far I've found a really nice folding knife and a torch / lighter, still full of fuel. Countless golf balls, and a few tennis balls for my doggie. Not bad for getting some productive exercise

Perhaps you will be inspired to try it for yourself, but you know what? If not. That is absolutely, 100% fine.
Cheers!

Sort:  

That is a great way to keep our world clean! I think everybody should be doing this!!

Awesome idea! I pick up batteries if I see them on the ground (they are so toxic), but I might expand my practice! Thanks for the inspiration!

Indeed, batteries are toxic and should not be allowed to leak. They can also be recycled and reconditioned, but the big battery manufacturers would prefer we don't get into too much of that ...

I also try to avoid getting my batteries into the waste stream. I keep them in a glass jar for recycling.

Cheers!

Yes and dogs or kids can eat them and get very sick, dangerous stuff those batteries.. cheers! Have a great week!

It's really sad that people litter in the first place. What do they think is going to happen to "their" park when it's disgusting?

you're doing real good in the world

You hit the nail on the head - they're not thinking.

I'm done being upset or frustrated at other people for littering.
Now watch me get super mad at someone ...
It helps me get more done. :-)

Thanks, @dream!

excellent! i follow you!

Reminds me, the best job one can have is trash picker after concerts. You find money, jewellery and weed galore.

Right!?! I remember scanning the lawn in general seating for ALL of that and those cigarette dollars. Totally!

You seem like a well-balance person who have been through ups and downs. To be able to not take yourself too seriously despite having difficulties in the way, I guess that's part of being a matured adult. I would have just stopped volunteering and say something along the line of "I don't need this shit, I have a real job". So kudos for you, might not mean much but you have my respect. Keep on nabbin'.

Hey, thanks!
I also focus on the fact that I'm actually altering reality.
Yeah, how's that for well-balanced - LOL!
In all seriousness, I do a "cup half-full" with it.
It's productive exercise and incremental positive change.
I love the nature of incremental change. Slow and steady.
Not only become familiar with the rhythms - become a part of the rhythms

Kudos to you for your efforts and the positive attitude put towards your work ! I , too, spend several hours a week doing roadside pollution pick-up .... I , however, grumble about the laziness and cavalier behavior people have regarding littering and trashing our landscape....I need to adopt a better outlook and make the whole experience about good energy !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87