Story of Me and Her, The Different Believers.

in #volunteerism7 years ago

social hours in the USA-78.jpg

Where ever I may roam in this world, the memory of my hometown is always in my head.
Aceh, Indonesia is always in my mind.. I still remember when I felt so much in longing when my friend sang our national anthem song during our trip through land to reach Grand Canyon in Arizona.

One day in 2014, I got a request in a very polite way from an old lady whom that day we worked for 5 hours cleaning all the mice dropping etc at her abandoned mansion. She was the one who at the first in that morning (before starting the volunteer work) felt like disliking me after knowing I am a Muslim (by showing me her uncomfortable face). She is a Jewish, a mother who really needed for such kind of help. But I did not follow my sadness of being softly half rejected by her.. I tried to understand all of her uncomfortable feeling and I kept working hand in hand with other colleague who is also Muslim. We just wanted to show that we love every one in need. Nothing to do with different faith or God to believe.
Two hours after, we became more closer, we got so many things to talk and discuss, as we needed her instruction and direction regarding managing her belongings at the third floor. She showed us her comfortable feeling to have us in her three stories mansion..

Just before we said goodbye at that almost evening time, She said.."Dlan, you must come back again to this country .. bring along your wife and kids with you.. we need you here.."

I was so surprised to hear that..then I spoke by looking her eyes deeply as I did not want to hurt her feeling. I carefully said
" Yes I would love to.. but the timing is not now.. I need to bring back and implement all the knowledge I got here as I want to have my country being better than before. If I return to US and abandon my hometown..then who will develop and upgrade my country then?"

She nodded down and smiled at all of us at the end, to us, people from Indonesia- and groups of American church and military personnel.

She is so amazing retired teacher.. for her 'seeing is believing..' She loves us.
I missed her..
I hope she is always fine and happy at the end of her life journey.

social hours in the USA-3.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @dlan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55