Writing about Freedom - A Freewrite

in #volunteering5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Writing about Freedom - A Freewrite


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

I'm humbled to be among those that inspired this post.

My goals are very similar and the intent is to further divest from the system. I have pretty much done so and only pay retail and gas taxes. As soon as I hit the road, I'll no longer need to pay gas taxes as well.

As for making money? There are so many ways and the best in my mind is creating products from cheap or free natural materials the way the indigenous made them before Westerner's arrived.

Simple products like survival multitool bracelets/belts are cheap to make, especially without a shop while on the road. Another is creating Native American flutes and other instruments then selling them online.

These are just examples and there are so many options these days. The best thing about owning very little, is when the 'Man' decides they want a piece of your earnings, if done right, they have no access to take it from you.😀

I look forward to seeing some of your tangible idea's, my friend.

All this just sounds super exciting! Would love to take an apprenticeship with you! ;-)

Lol, I'm not quite at that level yet. Half of my advice is from experience and the other is simply from my research.

My foraging knowledge for example is more research than experience. I know a little, but my trip is to force me to learn more in a quicker period of time than I'm currently able to motivate myself to learn.

I have a comprehensive field guide and use a pretty goof Plant Identification app, but little hands on experience. The same for making native American Instruments. They are easy to make and there are great apps that give me the ability to not only place the holes in the correct spot, but tune them as well.

So, while I long for a more basic/primitive life, technology is still a necessity in my plans. Hence the reason for making sure I can generate plenty of electricity for my journey.

A cordless drill will also be one of the tools I'll have with me to make fixing and creating things a bit easier.

But, you are welcome to come on up this way any time. I'm currently in Omaha, NE and plan to head North from here. I'd like to hit South Dakota for the first part, then head East towards Lake Superior across Minnesota, where there are two Workaway Hosts I'd like to visit. From there it's all up in the air and there's no timeline set to get there.

Of course I'll need to be quite far South by the time winter hits.

There are a lot of hosts in West Virginia, North and South Carolina and Florida.

Awww, you know I'd love to just pack up and go... But this year there are other priorities. Also, my bike is in Los Angeles, so once I get back on the road, I'd start from there, heading either eastward or southward. Hahaha, and I also happen to know a few interesting projects in the southwest. But I'm sure our paths will cross at some point. Wishing you lots of good luck till then!

This is such a great initiative and I love all the creative thinking that is coming out of it to live that freer lifestyle and not support the enslavement of the world!
Missed resteeming it but I would love to see this initiative grow and I'm all for supporting it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84