Volunteering: What Steps Are Needed?

in #volunteer6 years ago

Yesterday, I took some steps towards a volunteer program I intend engaging on by next month. A group of us has arranged to make some journeys to assist some communities in some very far rural communities to assist them.

Such assistance will come in form of education and orientation on what civilisation means in terms of taking care of themselves physically, spiritually and healthwise. It is not my first time at volunteering in similar assignments, but it will be my first time to pass a night in such place.

Did I say a Night?

Sorry, there is more to it. I and others will be spending nothing less than 2weeks in a place without good pipe borne water, adequate source of electricity, and I guess we may not have internet service phone service most days. Some in the group have experienced such journeys before, and I can guess and only imagine what it was like. I love and admired their volunteering Spirit.

IMG_20180706_215957_733.JPG
Source

thealliance_pagebreak-1.png

I have this mixed feeling of joy and anxieties because of the fear of the unknown. Will I really enjoy it as much as they paint it? How can I cope without these basic amenities. How about some form of language barrier? Those and many other questions keeps coming up on my head. I will like to know if you have embarked on similar journeys before now, and what steps needs to be taken for safer camping.

I have plans of making lots of posts around the time I will leave and schedule them with steemauto to be coming out daily pending when I will return from such journey. That will be by next month likely. I will keep you all posted when the D-Day draws near. For now, I am confused and joyful, and needs all the ideas and suggestions that will help.

thealliance_pagebreak-1.png

My Signout Message Is:

We Accomplish A lot When Our Love Overcome Our Fears.

thealliance_pagebreak.png

STAY TUNED TO, @emjoe

Sort:  

Just reminds me of NYSC days...worrying won't solve the problem so, try to keep an open mind, enjoy the company of your follow volunteers ,take pictures, do your work, be security conscious, move with your group members and have a nice time, you might end up having access to the best basic amenities available though!✌

This is so encouraging:

worrying won't solve the problem so, try to keep an open mind, enjoy the company of your follow volunteers ,take pictures, do your work, be security conscious, move with your group members and have a nice time.

I really appreciate your coming around. Thanks so much @nigerian-yogagal

You welcome....glad to be of service !😀✌

Many communities need help in knowing how to help themselves to a better life. You will be a great asset Emjoe. Have faith and don’t worry. ❤️

Thanks for your encouraging words @redheadpei.

I look forward to the journey around 14th of next month.

Thanks for your encouragements

Great journey you have ahead of,dont worry you will surely enjoy your stay there

Thanks bro

I hope I will enjoy it

Please like my posts. I like your post.🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53