Echo Chamber or Interpersonal Communication of Liberty Ideas? Both?

voluntaryismImage.jpg

Hi Friends!

I'm following a process to delete my Facebook account. I have anti State ideas and some of my "friends" who are very very close recently objected to some of my posts. I've been using Facebook for six years. I hesitated to join at the beginning. But I wanted to keep in touch with younger relatives. Then an ex girlfriend who I did not want to connect with invited me to connect. I really preferred keeping in touch through e-mail and phones. I locked myself out of a big job industry, the Military Industrial Complex, by posting thousands of times that wars are all rackets and inhumane. I lost respect of some friends who do not understand voluntaryism, which is the only way human progress can happen and has happened. Somehow just posting links to voluntaryist URLs or just memes don't spark any interest among the indoctrinated whom I know.

I might create a new Facebook account with "voluntaryist" or "ancap" explicitly in the name to discourage family, colleagues, longtime statist associates from connecting, if any of them find out about a new account. Yes, it will be sort of an "echo chamber" but my posts can be shared publicly, and I will be able to post my Steemit article links there. I have over 200 friends in voluntaryist circles and will slowly reestablish connections with them. I also like the idea of Facebook because I learn about more libertarian ideas and read great posts by friends. It's also sort of a virtual family that I need.

For over 30 years though, I have voted for Libertarian Party candidates, never wanted to associate with social conservatives at all - they disgust me, and leftists disgust me too. But I was able to operate in the Statrix without people hating or disrespecting me for my libertarian ideas. I firmly believe liberty ideas start with yourself. Live it. I found ways to cut my taxes - and that means cut my own funding of the empire. I no longer vote and decided it is best not to sanction the system that perpetuates statism. I don't go out talking liberty to everyone, but when the context of any conversation allows me the opportunity, I promote voluntaryism. I try to be a good role model and not only have the appearance of good health, but strive to be kind and decent toward everyone I meet in person. Above all, by not wearing my ideas of ("I think every association should be voluntary") on your sleeve, you have less chance of others shutting their brains off from considering your ideas. This is part of interpersonal communication. It is the first step to open channels of communication and you cannot do that with Facebook memes or URLs.

Sort:  

There's a logan paul joke in here somewhere.

Congratulations @therealtomsawyer! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am still on FascistBook, but I'm really on there there to see the family photos and other stuff my spouse shares. It's a shit show otherwise and full of mindless and dangerous robots. No thanks! This place is really the only place I'm active anymore. My fb list is down to 103 people, and it is mostly people I've met in real life off the Internet with a few exceptions for many years long friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76