You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Would you prefer to live in a just world? - An argument for liberty

in #voluntaryism8 years ago

First, @churdtzu, I love you so much for saying this. The last paragraph, especially. I've noticed a surprising streak of violent authoritarianism, lately on facebook. Someone feels powerless about an issue ( and I know they're just venting) but when they take it to a place of advocating the rape of rapists, taking pleasure in the thought of causing pain, relishing "justice," they take a big step towards becoming exactly what they despise. The impulse to protect the innocent can always be channeled into good deeds and always should.

I sometimes think so much could be accomplished if we put 70% of our current policing energy into rewarding and aiding volunteers who are taking initiative in their communities and just totally stopped caring about tail lights, helmets, and so much else.

Sort:  

Much appreciated, @pulpably. I've noticed too, over the last 6 months or so, that many people who I thought were very peaceful people, now seem to think that Trump is really cool, along with the ideas of violent domination, among other things.

I notice you follow @sterlinluxan on here. Maybe this group will lighten your Facebook experience if you haven't already joined https://www.facebook.com/groups/1679321158973580/?fref=ts

Don't get me started on the tail light and helmet thing hahah... Now I live in Mexico so normally I don't have to deal with that nonsense.

Oh wow! Thank you for the group suggestion. I asked to join. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44