You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Would you prefer to live in a just world? - An argument for liberty

in #voluntaryism8 years ago (edited)

I don't think many people would say that violence is necessary--it's just inevitable. Humans have been violent towards other each other since the beginning of time.

I have upvoted not because I agree, but because I admire your curiosity and willingness to share your thoughts on a complicated subject.

Sort:  

Unfortunately, I've had many people make the case to me that violence is necessary. I remember I was having a heated discussion with one fellow, and I asked him how much violence and threats of violence would exist in an ideal society. I thought that the answer was quite obvious - zero. But he said that because violence and threats had such an integral role in maintaining order in a society, the amount of violence and violent threats in an ideal society must be non-zero.

Perhaps it's inevitable... Even in that case, we can always have less violence. It's inevitable that you or I will be in a violent situation at some time in our lives, but of course most of us don't try to promote violence in our personal lives. However, many people do promote violent behaviour when it comes to government agents - in the form of locking tax-evaders, marijuana smokers or marijuana sellers in prison. That's definitely not something that has a place in my ideal world.

Thanks for your comment and have a great day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44