Voluntary Toys: Today's Search for Some Semi-Rare Japanese Collectibles (photo blog)

in #voluntarism8 years ago (edited)

Well, as if I wasn't into enough shit already, today I decided to check up on (and act on) a curiosity that has been tugging at my attention on and off for the last two years.

I headed out to my local comic book/dvd/toy store/arcade combo shop (there are tons of these here) to do some monster and superhero scouting for some Japanese Ultraman toys today. As I said, I have been researching this stuff lightly here and there for awhile, just as a small curiosity. I have heard that most hardcore collectors here dig the monsters (I do as well) because they are just so goddamned weird. I thought I might make my little journey a photo opp, since these shops are so wonderfully colorful and packed to the gills with toys and all kinds of other fun and strange things.

(I set my phone to HD today, so I am wondering if there will be a noticeable improvement in image quality/resolution.)


Wall o' superheroes.


Storefront.


This "Satan Beetle" is 9 years old.


The beautiful condition of even the older toys is unbelievable.


Reguran is 20 years old. Pretty wild!

If you, dear reader have any Japanese monster or superhero needs, you can hit me up here on Steem or at my newly created business, Voluntary Toys', ebay page. Yet another potential income stream. At present this is just a tiny, tiny investment, but I think it is pretty damn fun.

Cheers.


Hi, my name is Graham. I am into about 20 million things, but they are all unified by the philosophy of voluntaryism. I hope you'll enjoy my photos, songs, blog entries, essays and rants. Have a great day!

Sort:  

Hey, sorry this isn't relevant to this post, but I can't reply to your unschooling post since it's too old. I just wanted to tell you that I just got Summerhill in the mail and I'm writing a blog series on the book as I read through it.

Thanks for the recommendation! I'd love to get your thoughts/participation in the comments from time to time since you've read the book.

That's great to hear, @sethlinson. I will definitely check it out.

would love to browse a place like this!

Yeah man, I really love these stores. Something else, for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61