Sort:  

@fulltimegeek

God is an invention of men, sustained by tyrants

The point is finding a way to tame people so they can't act freely.

Be it a religion, societal shunning, or traditional government, there must be some way to clip the wings of every human, so no one is truly free. There must be control.

Why do people think this taming is necessary?

I think that the main motivation (other than some people's sadism and sheer desire for dominance) is fear. People are afraid that they'll experience pain and loss and that things they don't want to see happen will happen, so they support "control" in various ways. The thing is, we can never control events well enough to completely end fear.

"Control is about as real as a one-legged unicorn taking a leak at the end of a double rainbow."
-Ray from Mr. Robot

Control of people by other people or of people by an idea or concept is absurd. If we want to not feel afraid once and for all, we're going to have to find another way.

@edgeland I loved the quote. Everybody tells me to watch Mr. Robot, maybe I should start :)

I totally agree, control and authority are as real as any other inventions. When I'll have kids, I really hope they trust me because I have proven myself to them not because I have "authority" because I am their parent.

Haha, you should watch it! Great show.

Yeah, I also want to raise free kids who think and act independently. Of course I'll have to do things like teaching them math and holding on to their hands so they don't die in traffic when they're toddlers, but I'm not going to set up any false authority or structure. Why add to the confusion?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32