You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When you hear someone say "Don't be evil" did they define evil?

in #voluntarism6 years ago (edited)

Free will doesn't eliminate the concept of consequences and responsibility. :)

Yet in pretty much dichotomy based religion humans have the ability to CHOOSE to be evil. They are also responsible for the consequences of such.

Some religious people I've asked them if God gave man free will then why are some people so arrogant that they believe they can take free will away from people?

EDIT: and if you follow those three links I have next to the word Deist. It will explain the closest thing to what I am. I do believe there is some catalyst event, call it a creator, a god, etc.

I simply do not believe what people write in books around that as those seem far too simplistic for what my observations show me. Often they are completely silly.

As a deist, it basically is "there is a creator"... now observe and use reason.

The closest thing to a bible for a deist is the things they see as they observe the world whether it is in discovering amazing things in Fractals, or the repetition of the Golden Mean, etc.

We don't then speculate and tell people what that means. We will speculate, but we recognize we are speculating.

That's basically it.

Sort:  

Free will doesn't eliminate the concept of consequences and responsibility. :)

Yeah I know, but there's lots of people that think otherwise, so I prefer to take the agency approach.

And of course, I can't force you to believe like I do. Everyone has the right to make their choices without any judgement if it doesn't harm others or yourself. That's a mistake every religion has.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55851.69
ETH 2536.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23