Costa Rica Volcanoes

in #volcano6 years ago

PHOTOS I HAVE TAKEN OVER THE YEARS

Costa Rica has only 6 Active Volcanoes. But a whopping 61 dormant or extinct ones (and don't get me started on our neighboring country Nicaragua! (just active, it has 19!).

Poas Volcano Crater.

You are not allowed anymore near the crater until it is considered safe again. Has been that way I think for over a year now, after high activity which made it very unsafe to go that near the crater.

I took this back in Oct 16, 2016.

Compositions of several HDR's - three stops per HDR - Nikon D7000 + Tokina 12-24mm + tripod

poas-otas.png

Arenal Volcano + Arenal Resevoir Lake.

Back in 2009 I was pretty actively involved with the Ultimate Frisbee community (before I busted my knee), and every year, we had the "Volcanic Tournament" in La Fortuna, San Carlos. And of course, the main attraction there is the active but not dangerous (from a distance) Arenal Volcano.

Compositions of several HDR's - three stops per HDR - Nikon D80 + Sigma 18-200mm + tripod

Arenal_Volcano_and_Lake_Pano_by_otas32.jpg

Irazu Volcano Crater.

This is one you can still visit right up to the crater, unlike its next-door neighbor, the steaming angry Turrialba Volcano (of which I have no photos). This photo I actually did a naughty thing and overstepped the safety boundary gate. It felt like I would slip off the edge when taking this pick.

Shot in April, 2011.

Single shot - post-hdr in Photomatix Pro - three stops per HDR - Nikon D80 + Sigma 18-200mm, hand-held

irazu-volcano-otas.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65578.21
ETH 2613.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67