Hearts of Darkness - Plague of the Void Seeds / VoidArt COMPETITION 2


Pre-altered source image - jordygoovaerts-750531

VoidArt COMPETITION 2

Background

Hi, for those of you who haven't yet read a Hearts of Darkness post. It is a Science Fiction fantasy adventure series. It is being written on the go.....at the moment I post on the day I finish the section and write notes about two posts ahead. It is original material posted on Steemit only.

There are several characters and objects within the world that my cherished readers have expressed an interest in and have asked for graphical depictions based on my descriptions. I am a terrible artist and it was suggested that some of the fabulous artistic talent within the Steemit community might take part in a competition.

Hopefully you'll find the subject matter of interest and be able to showcase your talents and discover new followers, who knows?

Competition Rules

  • Each artist that is interested in taking part will submit one or more posts with a single depiction of a Moving Room.

Description -

A Moving Room is more like a temple than a room, given the reverence in which the technology is held. Each race tends to build them differently, though they all function in the same way and are built with a beauty that reflects that which each race holds most dear.

Here is an extract from Post 12 where Bulvodin the Valhalconin observes the Move Room aboard the Ziffnindel Nest Mother (spaceship.) - They reached the Moving Room and Sill shot off to speak with a Ziff commander. To call it a room was misleading, it was more like a temple. Every race which attained the knowledge and technical capability to move instantaneously through time and space learned a deep and profound respect for the capability. All moving rooms had a sense of reverence about them, despite their differences. The Ziff’s was a great cavernous room. The walls were white and covered in precise golden drawings of Sserwellia, her stars, a variety of constellations and other similar depictions. It was beautiful. A contingent of Ziff, standing on the pearl-white platform in the centre of the room, were about to move. A deep hum began and the platform changed from pearl to translucent to a mirror. One second the Ziff were standing on reflections of themselves, the next there was only the Ziff in the reflection. The hum began to subside and the surface of the platform changed back to pearl white.

  • The post must be tagged with #voidart-movingroom

  • Please feel free to attempt a Moving Room for any of the Hearts of Darkness races. It does not have to be Ziffnindel made.

  • Feel free to write a short summary of your work.

  • The winner will be the post with the most votes. If there is a tie, it will be the post with the most SD.

  • The count will be taken at 17:30 UK TIME on the 2nd of October.

  • The winning artwork will feature in the next post I make in the series.

Winnings

The winner will receive all SD from this post and half of the SD value of the post in which it is featured as part of the series. If the total from this post and the feature post is less than $50, I will power down a bit and make up the rest. Hopefully it will be more but who knows. I hope that's enough of a reward. You may also get more followers for your other work.

If anyone knows an artist personally and thinks they may be interested, please let them know about the competition. Please let me know if you spot anything unfair or problematic with the competition and I will do everything I can to rectify it.

If this is successful, there will hopefully be a competition for every major character, landscapes of planets, objects, important scenes and anything else we can think of ;)) So perhaps a regular source of income if I can keep the story going!

Thank your for you attention!

Happy Steeming.


If you'd like to read up, here are links to the first and latest post....

Please click here if you would like to read Post 1, the beginning of the story

Please click here if you would like to read the latest post

Sort:  

Excellent idea. Great way for creative writers to produce and be rewarded handsomely for their effort. Thanks for bringing this! :)

Thanks! I hope the artists like the subject matter! I thought it would be more interesting to cycle through beings, places and objects as we go.

I think there will be a good response. Sometimes it help to have a specific starting point....

I missed first one ........ now I must participate this competition :)

Awesome! Good luck royalmacro! The competition will be richer indeed for your participation. Best of luck.

Another VoidArt competition. Excellent. A very interesting subject for the competition. Can't wait to see the artists interpretations of a Moving Room.

I do have a question @benjojo, do the humans have ships and a Moving Room? It seems the 302 humans are just passengers on other races ships unless I missed something. If humans don't have ships after 30 years, is the technology still beyond our grasp or is Earth frantically working on it's own fleet?

What a great question. So from what I can recall, the current situation is that there are 1002 humans with the Alliance fleet. These presently consist of 500 newer volunteers and 500 elite 'veterans.' Oh and Gary & Anna of course. Over the last decade or so, as the new fighters became elite, 500 would be sent back to Earth to train more enhanced humans with 500 more joining the alliance.

A contingent of aliens from the alliance have been helping the humans to upgrade their technology and build a moon base.

The humans have been gradually advancing their tech and building the infrastructure required to support a fleet of human space ships.

They were using moving rooms on alliance ships until they were built on Earth and on the Moon.

The humans are mobilising. We'll see what comes of it! I think that covers everything. Hope I haven't missed anything....some of the details are getting difficult to recall! ;))

Thank you for the information. I recalled the moon base but did not know (or I forgot) they had constructed Moving Rooms on Earth and the Moon.

I can't help but wonder what it would be like to be one of the human volunteers that was chosen to go live among the alien races. Every moment would be so full of wonder and enlightenment that I would think it would be impossible to step away every day and sleep for even a few hours.

Do you think that after a few of these VoidArt contests you would consider taking the story up to that point and art and combining them into one or two very long posts so that new readers would be able to easily follow the complete story? (And selfishly, I would be able to easily jump back and look up plot points I had forgotten.)

You are quite right, I've not mentioned the humans having moving rooms. In truth, I had not thought specifically about how the humans were traveling back and forth until you asked the question ;)). I often find myself inventing backwards as there is so much going on and I'm planning only two posts ahead.

I would love to go over everything written so far and if the VoidArt work continues to yield such fabulous creativity, combine it all. However, that will have to wait until I finish the story. I just want to achieve that so I don't fail all of you who have taken so much interest in it.

I completely understand. I realize it would be a very time consuming task and given a choice, I would much rather see you continue advancing the story line.

Thanks for the healthty competition. That is what makes steemit different from others.

Thank you for the competition that brings out the best work.

When I 've read about moving room first, I imagined it as something like Lexx (I worship His Shadow) cockpit from the great sci-fi series of 90th. Cannot find good picture, but it is in every episode. Just for example.. Without Stanley Tweedle of course hehehe

I've not seen this series. I looked for images of Stanley tweedle's cockpit but couldn't find any either!

Lexx interiors from 1:00

Wow, brutal! Thanks busser, that was pretty cool! The interior of the lexx was very interesting...not quite what I had in mind but I can totally see how you'd get there!

Just keeps getting better and better. So cool man. Happy for your progress and success.
The Steemit experience just keeps getting better and better because of people and projects like you/yours.
Best Regards~*~

I wanted to call @summonerrk, but I do not remember a single picture with the building...

Wow! This is going to be challenging. An architecture student is likely to have a huge advantage. Still fun fun fun. I'll see what I can do...btw what's a Ziff?

(Kidding) I'm starting through the series, unlike the last time I was reading just the challenge description isolated from the story.

Lol! Hope it helps ;))

Boy you weren't kidding. I read through the story highlighting physical descriptions.
What do you think of this as a base design for a Ziff:
I thought they might have robes that let the feather knives hang out free.

I really like it! Are the 2nd pair of compound eyes at the top of his head? I had imagined the ziff as being closer to lizard than bird but I like where you are going with him! He reminds me of the Skexis from the Dark Crystal, some of my favourite characters ever. Perhaps ziff forms change depending on their predominant function in Ziff society? A robed ziff with more bird-like features is a priest or scholar, whereas a warrior is more lizard-like and attired for maximum speed?

Yeah, it gives them some eyes behind Thier head. I'm going to change somethings still. Bigger eye mass for one.

Just a thought, more of a suggestion really, have you considered publishing a omnibus of the previous work. I struggled reading the whole thing off my phone primarily because it took forever to find my way to the next chapter. Causing a break in a flow of the story. (or course they were written with that break in mind) On my laptop I have collected all the work so I can read it in one go, which got me thinking I cannot be the only one that might need to catch up....well, just an idea.

I do have more questions but I shall suspend them for now trusting that you have already answered them in your writing.

Have a great day...

It's a great suggestion. My only concern would be the length of the post causing any unnecessary overhead on the network. But perhaps I could create a catchup post linking to all the previous posts.

I really hope my future posts answer all your questions. However, as none of it is yet written, I'm happy to elaborate on something or answer questions where I can. It is a distinct possibility I could accidentally overlook something you see....I'm afraid we're all in this together.m! ;))

Is there a #hashtag for sharing and refining graphic story elements? I think it would be fun for fans and artists.

There might be one under #VoidArt if not, that might be a good general hashtag to put it. Good idea!!

No-one is using the hashtag #voidart just yet. Could you reblog my post. "Is this a Ziff?"And help me kickstart its use.

Do you want to do a post that generally announces the #voidart tag? It's a great idea. Anyone can get on and discuss or create if they feel inspired to do so. We can hopefully sort something out to re-tag the other voidart so that it appears under the new tag. in future voidart competitions the general and specifc tag will have to be used.

Yeah. That's a great idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65777.74
ETH 2616.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68