You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Voiceshares #3 - Abandoned By My Dad and Suffering from Depression - My Story Of Love and Hate!!!

in #voiceshares7 years ago (edited)

This case has so many serious elements in it I recommend this person seek some professional help.

Not professional help in the way people slang it around today like it's a joke.

But seriously investigate getting a recommendation to speak to someone with training and experience and certifications in these areas.

They suggest they are coping with it:

The way I have coped is by surrounding myself with those I love and I know love me.

..which sounds good. I also appreciate the writer being completely honest when they also mention this too...

when I am aching so much I can't even get out of bed , or when I have bouts of sleep that last for 20 hours straight, or even when I am sick and tired of feeling so goddamn sick and tired all the time.

It is this stress and anxiety that persists that I'm concerned about.

Seeking a professional could help.

For example, there are some techniques they can give you (almost like mental exercises) so you don't relapse with depression or have stress and anxiety disturb your sleep patterns.

There is varying degrees of help available. Psychologists are different than Psychiatrists.

Unfortunately seeking mental health these days sounds like you're going to be prescribed dozens of pills or spend time in a hospital. That's rarely the case.

Movies and TV teaches these stupid ideas. Friends joke about it as a result.

There is a huge availability of mental health resources out there that can totally make your life that you think is "pretty good" today, a LOT better tomorrow if some of your past issues have been dealt with.

There's a lot of instincts as a child that the writer may not have developed appropriately, that could affect them in their adult life even now.

For instance:

As the writer tells the story, little key things get mentioned:

I still struggle with these feelings of abandonment..

...and that will continue to happen even if they say this:

surrounding myself with those I love and I know love me.

That's great that they have love in their life, but it's not the final solution to ongoing problems. I don't have the training, expertise or skill to help this person.

Compassion and love and understanding is only 75% of what this person needs.

  • The remaining 25% will assist with the abnormal sleep, stress and anxiety which take take a toll on the physical body. It can vastly lessen the suffering of feelings of abandonment, and more.

  • That 25% this person is lacking can't come from friends, family, or steemit. I believe it has to come from someone who has helped others in a professional capacity and has undergone rigorous training to earn a phD in psychiatry.

Whatever happens, _I thank the writer for their bravery in sharing this story... (anonymous or not, doesn't matter). Drudging up memories that hurt you and put them into words must have been hard. Thank you for talking about it.

A life experience like this can help bring others to share their own stories. Someone always has to go first, or second, or third.... so this person should be thanked for participating and sharing those haunting memories of the past with us.

Thank you again, to whomever you are..

Sort:  

I appreciate your insight on my story, but i have sought out proffesional help when i was in highschool. It wasnt very helpful to be honest. I mean it was nice to tell an unbiased 3rd party about my problems, but it didnt help enough to be worth the money for it. Idk if you live in america but mental health is expensive, and although i have insurance it is still depending where you go 30-75 dollars co pay to bee seen by a therapist or psychiatrist.

Thank you for the comments and trying to help though (:

That's unfortunate. At least you did try. Well that's okay. Do your best (as you are doing)... and perhaps one day if you get good cash flow from blogs (takes a while, I know)... you might decide to try again later.

In the meantime, know you're not alone... and a lot of people you haven't met (myself included) sometimes don't know the right things to say or do.. but we care about you. Sometimes all it takes is meeting someone for even a minute, and in some regard you care for them.

Think of someone with a flat tire at the side of the road, with 3 young kids, no spare tire, and stranded in the middle of no where.

It would take less than 60 seconds for me to care for their welfare, and offer to help if I could.

Now you don't have a flat tire, nor 3 kids, nor stranded at the side of the road. But I still see that things aren't perfect in your life yet... so I have the similar feeling in this case. :)

Anyway, best of luck to you and I'm now following you to see your posts. You're actually a very articulate and good writer when you put your thoughts down.

@intelliguy- You just put your heart out in reaching out to the story owner and this is the basic support we expect from everyone..... By strangers connecting with the story we see the story owners instill a sense of companionship within themselves... We appreciate your compassion towards the project.... Means a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46