Millennial Goal: It Ends Now (Voices Against Child Abuse)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #voicesagainstchildabuse7 years ago (edited)

Just yesterday, I read @michelle.gent's post, "Me Too", in which she related how she had been abused as a kid and urged others to raise their voice too to fight sexual harassment and assault. Towards the end of the post, she said something I really love.


We're the generation that KNOWS this is happening. WE have to to be the first to make it stop- D Michelle Gent

Those words struck me and it was more or less all the conviction I needed to be sure I was on the right path by kickstarting my Voices Against Child Abuse (VACA) Campaign. The timing of @michelle.gent's fight against abuse couldn't be more perfect. The comment box of her post really turned into an intense discussion in which we all began to bare our mind on what we felt about sexual abuse and assault. A few people also shared their personal experiences and it's shocking how many people have been victims of child abuse at one time or the other in their lives

International Statistics on Child Abuse

40 million children subjected to abuse each year.

Suicide is the third leading cause of death among adolescents worldwide.

30% of severely disabled children in special homes in the Ukraine die before 18 years of age.

Approximately 20% of women and 5–10% of men report being sexually abused as children, while 25–50% of all children report being physically abused.

Statistics indicate that 3 million young girls are subjected to genital mutilation every year.

(These statistics were procured from arkofchildrenhope.org)


What is VACA all about?

The Voices Against Child Abuse (VACA) Campaign is all about spreading awareness on the ills of child abuse in the society and taking a stand against it. According to google, steemit has over 170,000 users at the last count at around May, 2017. With hundreds of users also trooping in on a daily basis. What this means is that VACA has a target audience of about maybe 200,000 people, more or less. It might be little compared to the world population of 7 billion people but it's a start.
My millennium goal is to play a major role in curbing child abuse.

I have already started playing my own little part in fighting child abuse by starting this campaign. However, there is not much I can do alone. That is why I need you (yes, you) to join my campaign against child abuse.


You can also be a part of VACA


CoverMaker-1508142073786.jpg

HOW TO JOIN VACA AND LEND A VOICE AGAINST CHILD ABUSE

  • Resteem this post so others can know about and join vaca
  • Make a post or posts of your own against child abuse and it's ills using the #voicesagainstchildabuse and #vaca tags
  • Drop the link to your post here with a picture of yourself. 
  • You will officially become a Voice Against Child Abuse.

Thanks for taking your time to read this. Please resteem and spread the message. Also, say no to child abuse!

CoverMaker-1508278852573.jpg

You could also share this post with your friends and encourage them to join the movement. If you want to take a step further, you could promote this post to increase it's visibility. I'd really like to know what you think about this initiative, please comment. Thanks.

CoverMaker-1508278453464.jpg

" I'm just a teenager with nothing but a voice and I'll shout till I'm heard" -@ajremy (The teen with steam for steem).

CoverMaker-1508143114055.jpg

Yours truly,
@ajremy.

Sort:  

such sudden brainwave from you is one of the initiatives needed to put paid to the upswelling trend of child-abuse which is extremely rife. Victims tend to suffer in silence which only foment their internal turbulence. A platform of this nature will give voice so that we can join hands to curtail this menace. Good work, bro.

Thanks sir. There is my exact reason for starting this initiative. I hope you join the campaign

Congratulations @ajremy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice one @ajremy, it is about time we address this issue of child abuse which have shown to gradually become the norm In our society,which shouldn't be, this piece I hope has a role to play in influencing those affected to have a respite in their predicament.

You've hit the nail on the head

I am lucky that I wasn't abused in my childhood. But I have heard and read about it around me. It is really cruel acts towards innocent child. It should be stopped. Wish your success of this campaign.

“Childhood should be carefree, playing in the sun; not living a nightmare in the darkness of the soul.”
― Dave Pelzer

Thanks. I hope you join me. I can't do it all alone.

Good thinking @ajremy. Resteemed. This is a good start.

Thanks sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97