You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on Voice

in #voice5 years ago

From the business/investment perspective, today was a great day to be an EOS investor. What a show! They showed to the crypto world that EOS team is strong and innovating, they showed a potential use case for EOSIO. Trying to look like Apple and Steve Jobs lol, I think was impressive. And also getting Coinbase to endorse them, is a big score for EOS team. Steem community has been begging Steemit Inc for years now to do a fraction of what EOS pulled off.

In my opinion, it is a case of two extremes. Steemit Inc pulled itself away for complete decentralization, let the community decide what happens. Voice seems like will be somewhat centralized, otherwise not sure how they are going to achieve what they are promising. I agree, there are more questions now as to how they are going to implement. But it does sound interesting.

I still think the stake-weighted system can work with a proper economic system. Maybe a little bit of competition will bring forward innovation and forward thinking.

In light of this news, I saw an article with some positive remarks​ about Steem here.

Great thoughts. Thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

Yes, there's no doubt that Block.one is doing a decent job marketing their products. I remain skeptical about EOS as a network, but their software is pretty good.

The prudent approach is going to be a combination of centralisation and decentralisation going forward. Get the best of what both methods have to offer. Centralised layers on top of a decentralised platform is the clear trend going forward. Even Steem is dabbling in it with Hivemind.

I'm not going to beat this stake-weighted dead horse any further... If you can make it work, it'll be the first plutocratic system in the history of human civilisation to work, and surely worthy of a Nobel prize.

Now you mention the Nobel prize, I will need to think/work hard on it :). If only there was enough time for everything. I know I could make it work if I was a whale :). All it takes is a million SP and a vision. I think there are some visionaries emerging who will take Steem to the next level. As I told you at the beginning​ of the year, this year will be good for Steem. I hope.

You told me in 2017 that I should stay. It's been all of 2018 and half of 2019, and things are still going downhill. While you're free to your own religious beliefs, all the evidence points to the contrary.

PS: Of course, depends on what you want from Steem. I want a social network. With downvote wars incoming, I'm getting the hell out of here. You may see it as a "necessary evil", but I want no part of evil. I'll still hold on to my STEEM as I think that'll appreciate, though.

lol, you are confusing reasons for each year. 2017, 18 were for your wisdom and guidance. For 2019 I specifically said it will be a good year for Steem. It is already happening. I think and hope. :)

I want the same thing you want, a ​ social network that works. When I see evil I run. I tend to focus on good though​ and ignore the evil.

How do we get you to power up your Steem? :) lol joke. But seriously trading steem is probably more profitable than powering up.

Seriously? Half the year is over, and the community is more divided than ever. I hope there's some miraculous turnaround, but it's best to learn from the past and be realistic. Even if there's said miraculous turnaround, given how bad first half of 2019 has been, it's only going to be an average year, lol.

I'll power up millions when/if everything is overhauled to be democratic and sustainable.

Miracles do happen. :) If it doesn’t happen feel free to mute, ban, and undollow.

You should write a post for a perfect stake-weighted system on a social network.

I have written for years about how stake-weighted is abysmal garbage. I think at this point even its proponents agree it's bad but a "necessary evil".

That the two people who created it are rushing to abandon it should speak volumes.

Also, I'm not unfollowing you unless you take a dark turn into being a tinfoil anarchist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82