You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemfest Preparation: 5 Helpful Tips for Exploring Amsterdam + 10 New, Helpful Words and Expressions

in #vocabulary8 years ago (edited)

Steemfest sounds fun :) I hope someone live streams it.

I wish I could afford to go, maybe some day in the future when I'm more successful.

One cool thing nowadays is Google translate on phones. You can speak Dutch to it and it'd tell you what they said in English. and vice verses. When I was flipping channels one day, I heard of a paramedic using his phone in the back of an ambulance to help with the language barrier. Got to love modern technology.

I guess whenever in the future I do happen to travel to Europe, I'd need to switch to a carrier that's not prepaid and lets you roam internationally. I've also heard of people traveling to Europe buying a separate sim card locally if they have a unlocked phone. So maybe that'd be a cheaper option than paying an American carrier to roam internationally.

Sort:  

Using technology to bypass language barriers is great;
Learning new words will also affect the way you think.
That's why I recommend learning some words before the trip.

And yes, buying a seperate SIM and even a seperate cheap phone is the better option.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60936.63
ETH 2387.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61