Vocab-ability Numbers–365 (quart, quad, tetra = 4, four) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.     (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.)

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use 

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.   
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Quarter:
    Turn one-quarter to unloosen the strap.

  2. Quartet:
    Now that the word has jogged my memory, I may search out some string quartet groups to listen to as I type out these sentences.

  3. Quadrangle:
    I learned that all shapes that have four angles are called quadrangles.

  4. Quart:
    I used to put a couple of quarts of oil into the engine when I was younger.

  5. Quadruped:
    It is my mission in life to create the first quadruped from my very own spit.

  6. Tetrapod:
    If you find a tiktaalik in this rubble, you will know that we have found the wrong tetrapod and we will lose the rest of our funding.

My Vocab practice

1.- My work day starts at a quarter to seven.

2.- A year ago I attended a concert dedicated to the elderly of my state and played for them a string quartet called "Angelic Strings".

3.-One of the best fighters that moves with great agility in the quadrangle is Manny Pacquiao.

4.- I need a quart of oil painting to paint the kitchen.

5.- The horse is one of the most intelligent, beautiful, elegant animals as well as being my favorite quadruped.

6.- There have been interesting discussions about the definition of "tetrapod." Many consider tetrapods to all terrestrial vertebrates with legs.


Good work!

I agree about horses. And about Manny!! Cheers.

i could do with re learning some of this stuff..or at least practicing as you will see below..

the price of steem quadrupled in the last 4 months of 2019

Thats all i got tonight but i did do 30,370 steps today :)

I actually re learn some stuff from my kids, i dont tell them that :)

steem on

Please read Rules #5-6, and revise accordingly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99