Vocab-ability–85 (fortun = chance, luck) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.     (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use 

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.  
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. fortunate
    Living in country like pakistan, i feel fortunate.

  2. fortune teller
    Fortune tellers can not predict truth.

  3. fortune
    Good friends are always fortune for us.

  4. Missfortune.
    Some time we can not acheive success by missfortune, but we should try hard.


Good work!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. Fortunate
    I was very fortunate and I won 3 out of 5 contests I participated in.
  2. Fortune teller
    He was scared to live so he visited a fortune teller to see what is coming up next.
  3. Fortune
    I hope that my travel blog will be successful and I will make a fortune in the next year.
  4. Misfortune
    I had the misfortune on one of my exams and I passed with a low grade.


Good work!

And GOOD LUCK with the travel blog!

Thank you so much! :)

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. fortunate
    I'm feeling fortunate to have such a lovable family.

  2. fortune teller
    There is too many fortune teller in my country.

  3. fortune
    It is my fortune to have a friend like Faizan.

  4. Miss Fortune.
    My cellphone touch has been broken by miss fortune.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

1 fortunate
I feel myself fortunate as my parents are alive

2 Fortune teller
I don't believe in fortune teller.

3 fortune
Fortune favors the brave.

Missfortune.
It's my misfortune that I missed the bumper prize by a narrow margin

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Fortunate
    I feel fortunate to be here at steemit.com.
  2. Fortune teller
    The fortune tellers' predictions are seldom true.
  3. Fortune
    It is my fortune that many brilliant teachers are teaching me.
  4. Misfortune
    Sometimes we have to taste misfortunes as these are the part of life.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. Fortunate
    We were all so fortunate to have each other.
  2. Fortune teller
    You can not live with the predictions of the fortune tellers.
  3. Fortune
    My fortune is to be alive.
  4. Misfortune
    The mismanagement of the economy is our common misfortune


Good work!

Re #4, the misfortunes of many around the globe will increase over the next few years ... owing to the mismanagement of the economy by the banksters and fraudsters who work with them. Hang on tight!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. fortunate
    It was my fortunate that i got a free ticket to America.
  2. fortune teller
    Fortune Teller predicts that Nigeria will win this football world cup.
  3. fortune
    It was fortune that i got married with the girl whom i loved.
  4. Miss fortune.
    I miss the flight to America by misfortune.


Good work!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Fortunate
    I was very fortunate to reach my office exactly one minute before my boss arrived.
  2. Fortune teller
    The fortune teller predicted that I will become a landlord within the span of five years.
  3. Fortune
    My brother has a good fortune, he was selected for the scholarship.
  4. Misfortune
    It was my misfortune to visit the south part of my city in summer's scorching heat.


Good work!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. fortunate
    He was fortunate that after doing this silly mistake boss didn't fired him.

  2. fortune teller
    My uncle is a fortune teller.

  3. fortune
    Having a teacher like you a fortune for me.

  4. Miss Fortune.
    You won't find anyone misfortune then me.


Good work!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Fortunate:
    My unfortunate circumstances were brought about by my way of thinking.
  2. Fortune teller:
    Many people see the fortune teller as a scam artist.
  3. Fortune:
    As my fortune would have it, twenty wales decided to upvote all most recent posts, which values over one-thousand dollars each.
  4. Misfortune:
    Then there were the other whales who countered their votes one-hundred percent and my misfortune was realized – I should have kept my ego in check.


Good work!

Careful. He who swims with the whales might drown!

Unless he is the size of the whale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95