Vocab-ability–230 (tele = distant, far) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.     (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.)

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use 

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.   
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. I have stopped watching television altogether.

  2. My son enjoys observing the constellations, through his telescope.

  3. I wish I had the ability to do chores easily with the help of telekinesis.

  4. When I was born, my father sent a telegram to my grandpa and conveyed news of my arrival.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. The television technician is yet to come and check my faulty television.
  2. I just received a Telegram from my uncle overseas.
  3. The telescope made the stars seem very close
  4. The magician performed telekinesis on the objects to the amazement of the audience


Good work!

Was that "telegram" delayed for about .... 50 years?!?

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. In this Industrial Era 4.0, television is still a relevant entertainment device.
  2. Its amazing what you can find in the skies through the lens of a telescope.
  3. The young doctor refused to operate on the lady because of his believe in telekinesis.
  4. I am amazed that telegram could still be of any relevance today.


Good work!

For me, television has been irrelevant for a few decades ... but I guess a few people still watch it.

Wow! You are the first I am getting to know about...

"MY VOCAB PRACTICE."

  1. Television.
    In the early days of television, programs like "Your Show Of Shows" were mainly variety-type programming, which featured singing, dancing and skits by the "regulars" and featured weekly guest stars.

  2. Telescope.
    I gave my father's telescope to an old friend because he's really into seeing the stars and planets.

  3. Telekinesis.
    Some people claim to have telekinesis powers, but I'm skeptical.

  4. Telegram:
    During World War II, when someone would get a telegram, it was usually bad news about a loved one.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. I enjoy watching the comedy show, “The Young and Hungry” on television.

  2. He purchased a telescope to have a better sight of the stars.

  3. Houdini, the magician, can do telekinesis tricks that leave his audience full of astonishment.

  4. Sending a telegram was the fastest and the best means of communication with urgency many years ago.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Television:
    I used to watch a lot of television and ignored reading, going outside, or doing anything productive.

  2. Telescope:
    I should get a telescope so that I can look at the sky in more detail.

  3. Telekinesis:
    Roger, he move the board telekinesis like.

  4. Telegram:
    I'm going to telegram myself love letters.


Good work!

I've tried sending myself "love emails," but for some reason, they always bounce. :-P

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. television
    We saw on the television that a crime held last night nearby.

  2. telescope
    When I was a kid I loved watching the stars through the telescope.

  3. telekinesis
    He assumed he is able to do telekinesis but in reality, it was only a wish.

  4. telegram
    I've always wanted to receive a telegram, but never happened.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE
1-Television is the fundamental necessity of man.
2-Telescope was the oldest ways of entertainment
3-Donky's horn telekinesis in the air.
4-Telegram is the phenomenal invention of communication.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

The man on the television received a heart wrenching telegram from his wife that made me want to cry. So, I reached around the couch to the side table in an attempt to grab the remote control, but instead found my telescope. As I put it down, I spotted the remote across the room on the floor. I was too lazy to get up, so I used my telekinesis ability to retrieve the remote.


Good work!

And let's hope that the poor heart-broken man was teleported to a comfort zone. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81