Vocab-ability–137 (mar = sea) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.     (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use 

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.  
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. Maritime
    This city has lost all of its maritime industry.
  2. Submarine
    I want to know the reason for the surfacing of that submarine.
  3. Marine
    My friend is the famous marine artist.
  4. Mariner
    That tale of the old mariner was wonderful.


Good work!

Thanks

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. Maritime
    The maritime area from my country is the most visited place by people in summer.
  2. Submarine
    I've been always wondering how is like an adventure with a submarine.
  3. Marine
    The marine life is in danger due of many people who pollute the water.
  4. Mariner
    The mariners have hard lives, living away from family for so long and fighting with the waves everyday.


Good work!

I agree, mariners have tough lives. That's why I stay on the shore, and enjoy the waves from there.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. Maritime: He wanted to enroll in a maritime school to be a seafaree someday.
  2. Submarine: I never know what's it like to ride a submarine.
  3. Marine: The country, being an archipelago, boasts of a healthy marine life.
  4. Mariner: We are aware of the sacrifices the mariners have being away from home.

Posted using Partiko Android


Good work!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. I am impressed to see that a submarine has been lost.
  2. All maritime police are looking for illegal whale hunters.
  3. Marine life is even more diverse than terrestrial life.
  4. The Mariner was very kind and showed the right boat.


Good work!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. The Maritime industry in my country is a very booming one.

  2. Looking at the shape of the submarine from a distance, you would think it's a whale.

  3. Marine animals cannot survive on land.

  4. The Mariner in charge of the vessel went to have his lunch.


Good work!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. Maritimes
    "So when I reached my prime I left my home in the Maritimes"

  2. Submarine
    "DAS BOOT" was a movie about a submarine, and one of the first techno songs.

  3. Mariner
    Old Mariner:
    There are no good jobs anymore except on those damn fishing vessels in the Bering Sea, "the deadliest catch" they call it... Humbug... You should have seen me back in my day, when we would wrestle 12 feet octopuses and catch white-sharks with our bare hands...

  4. Marine
    The marine life has changed, and it's not for the better.


Good work!

Great work, in #3. :-)

Thanks @majes.tytyty
=) This was a fun little exercise, triggers my imagination.
You should check out my blog sometime I am more active now.
Cheers!
/FF

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Many veteran mariners attended the event to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the country's maritime industry.

  2. The submarine from the international environmental agency surveyed the seabed of the South China Sea and found that many species of marine life are in danger of extinction due to rampant pollution.


Good work! And I like the way you used a target word from a previous "Vocab-ability" post. That's teh way to improve your language acquisition.

Thank you for your feedback. You put your heart into preparing the practices, I put my soul into my work on the sentences.

Your practices really helped to sharpen my language ability for the purpose of producing better quality Steemit articles!

You have created a virtuous circle to benefit the Steemit platform and enhance its appeal!

Cool. Thanks for the input and the praise. I enjoy doing it, and I'm very pleased if it helps you learn a bit more.

Cheers!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

1-Maritime
Any movie shoot by the maritime are always war movie
2-submarine
Submarine is the best way to win a war .
3-Marine
I don't think fish in marine are good for eating.
4-mariner
The mariner can swim for hours without resting


Good work!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Maritime
    John always talks about his time in the maritime academy.

  2. Submarine
    I remember feeling very nauseous on my first trip in a submarine.

  3. Marine
    Anne loved the ocean so much that she became a marine biologist.

  4. Mariner
    Growing up I didn't get to see my father much because he was always away working as a mariner.


Good work!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. The local maritime support agency helps stranded vessels in the ocean.

  2. The submarine was invented to not be seen by typical ships because it floats underwater.

  3. Have you seen Susan's collection of marine glass she found on the lake shore?

  4. My sister is a mariner, she catches fish on the ocean for a living.


Good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77