I'm off to Vietnam and crypto helped make it possible!

in #vn6 years ago

VN map 600x800.png
I've had this map for five years. Now I get to use it!

In a few days, I will leave for a two-and-a-half week trip to Vietnam, where I will finally get to use a map I've had for about five years.

I had picked up at a booth somewhere in either Hong Kong or Beijing -- I confess I can't remember where now -- where various Asian countries were marketing their tourism opportunities. Since then, I've been to Thailand, Malaysia and Japan, and many places in China. Now it's Vietnam's turn.

Through a combination of chance and forethought, I have enough money to afford this trip, even though I was unemployed for four months beginning last June. It is not money I had stashed away in a bank account that is making it possible, but the money I had invested in cryptocurrencies.

Bank accounts don't really pay much interest, especially when compared to the rising cost-of-living. If I had depended only on my bank savings, I'd be spending my winter holiday in China at home in my flat. (To be fair, I have to admit I was not a prudent man, and did not have a rainy day fund in my bank accounts.)

But since January 2014, when I first started in the cryptocurrency space, I've gradually built up a crypto nest egg. That nest egg has appreciated in value by quite a lot over the last four years. In fact, when I recently tallied up my financial resources, I was amazed to see my crypto-holdings were worth several times more than my other modest investments in stocks, gold, cash and bank accounts.

Am I millionaire? Hardly. I put what funds I had free from my modest teaching salary into cryptocurrencies, including ICOs, confident that over time those investments would be worth more in due time. It was a risky move, and fluctuating prices have given me a few scares, but I'm happy to say it was a good choice.

As an American working in China, I was drawn first to Bitcoin, which in December 2013 peaked to $1,000 before falling rapidly because of China's new banking regulations. Ironically, that's when I bought my first Bitcoin, on the downside of that slope. At the time, I didn't really mind, because I was using it to move some of my Chinese pay into American dollars without the hassles of bank wire transfers.

I've got a STEM background, and I'm comfortable with computers, so Bitcoin was a natural fit for me. Then I learned about other cryptocurrencies, such as Litecoin, which I started to mine, Peercoin, Namecoin, and Dogecoin. I bought a little of each that first year, but was not a serious investor.

A recommendation by my son to buy Ethereum changed my perspective. When I bought 4 ETH on Coinbase a year ago, the price of ETH was $40. Now it's over $1,000. Litecoin was about $4 when I first bought some. Now it's around $200. My first Bitcoin purchases were made when Bitcoin was at $860 and rapidly falling. Now BTC is around $11,500.

Soon, I had branched out into other alt-coins, because investing in them was fun. Most of those have done very well. A few have not, but diversification in any kind of investment vehicle compensates for the losers. Overall, my crypto-portfolio has appreciated more than 1,000%, from a total investment equal to only two months' teaching pay.

My Steemit rewards are part of that investment, and I've powered down a little to take advantage of STEEM's higher value in dollars.

My crypto funds would only be "paper profits" if I left them in their wallets. Having a nest egg gives you a sense of security for the future, but another purpose of a nest egg is to have fun with it. So, I decided that I would sell off some of my crypto for fiat currency to take this little trip. It will only put a tiny dent in my savings, and if the markets continue to recover from this month's dip, my net worth will recover, too.

If I had just prudently invested in stocks and bank savings accounts, I probably would not be able to travel this holiday. Thanks to the booming crypto markets, I can. It's really quite wonderful.

I'll be posting photos and comments about my Vietnam trip here. Stay tuned. Please upvote, resteeem and leave comments below.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing, its nice to hear a crypto enthusiast is able to put it to some good!

Money is a tool. Unused tools get rusty!

I am just ending a 2 week trip to Vietnam and I must say it has been one of the best trips ever. Safe travels to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64242.18
ETH 3496.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50