The Journey of an Image, Part 1: The Shot

in #vlog7 years ago (edited)


Hello, I would like to take you on an adventure today and bring you through the steps I go through in order to get my landscape photos. This was shot and recorded last night at Secret Cove, Lake Tahoe, one of my favorite spots on the lake.

Today's video is Part 1: The Shot, where I show you a bit about my techniques using a graduated neutral density filter and polarizing filter in order to get the best exposure and color from my Lake Tahoe shots. I also explain how I shoot stitched panoramic photos. Part 2 of this series will be The Edit and I will walk you through the steps I take in Photoshop and PTGui in order to stitch the 23 photos together into one big panoramic photo. I also plan on a Part 3: The Print, Part 4: The Stretch (stretching canvas), and Part 5: The Hang (hanging the print at the Vista Gallery).

The final photo ended up being better than expected so please subscribe or follow, and stay tuned for Part 2...

I mentioned in the video that I will be giving a photography workshop at the Las Vegas Steem Creators Conference, here is the website for more information and tickets: https://www.steemcreators.com

Thank you for looking, reading, and watching!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

CConference.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh my goodness. So beautiful. R U kidding me. I just want to go fishing now. SECRET COVE!!!! So much snow.

It's pretty amazing up here, what I consider paradise. Fishing on Lake Tahoe is one of my favorite activities. The big mackinaw are a lot of fun to catch, and the rainbow trout are delicious.

Scott,
thanks for sharing this - I love to see that dedication for taking one single image, your enthusiasm is really contagious :)

A couple of random thoughts:

  • Damn, that's a lot of snow.
  • Even if it was brief, my favourite moment was about the 31s mark. No talking, just enjoying that vista. Upon reviewing, I think we can even hear a woodpecker?
  • Eager to see the final image :)

Thank you @yblith! Yeah, we've been getting a ton of snow this March. It's great for our water levels at the reservoirs but I'm about ready for spring. Haha, I understand about the no talking part, I usually enjoy the silence out there but trying something new to me, vlogging... I hope to post Part 2, The Edit with the final image tomorrow. Thanks for watching!

Looking forward to the next posts!

I have so much to learn about photos, especially the editing part. My goal now is to study more and more in order to start making frames to sell, that way sponsoring my upcoming adventures.

I'm sure i'll learn from your posts, thank you for sharing.

Thank you @mrprofessor! I appreciate that you like the video/info, that helps motivate me to make more of these. Part 2: The Edit was recorded today, working on it now, and I hope to have it posted tomorrow. I wish I could say everything I know about editing in one "short" educational video but there is a balance between entertaining and painfully long and boring, lol. Hopefully you'll be able to learn something from it. Cheers!

Hey, my name is M3, and I'm giving you an upvote, and a subscribe. Me and my community of followers are trying to kill YouTube, and make DTube bigger and better than any other video site. YouTube doesn't reward creators like they deserve, so we're all helping each other out. Anyway, keep going! What we're doing really is the way of the future.``

Thank you @m3voice! I hope DTube takes over YouTube one day too, this video will not be posted there. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68051.59
ETH 2632.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67