[Vlog] Thoughts on Steemir and 3rd Party Apps on Steem

in #vlog7 years ago (edited)


YT-0012-steemir.jpg

I noticed a post a couple of days ago that appears to have flown under the radar. It's about a new App for Steem, Steemir. Here are my thoughts:-

Original Post announcing Steemir can be found here:-

https://steemit.com/youtube/@steemir-app/introducing-steemir-easily-monetize-your-youtube-videos-on-steem

Steemir a Chrome Extension that enables YouTube content creators to auto-post their content to the Steem blockchain when they upload to YouTube.



I love the concept. However I have a few reservations which I highlight in my Vlog

  • for this app and 3rd Party apps in general to have a real impact, there needs to be a streamlined way for users to sign up. Having to go away to Steemit.com, provide loads of detail and wait days to sign up is going to lose potential users.
  • 3rd party app providers need to be more realistic in what cut to take. 25% of the content creators rewards is too much. Yes I understand and appreciate the work it involved. However from a user perspective, all a Chrome Extension does is save them the few minutes it would take to copy/ paste their video directly using a site like Steemit. Yes there is value in a Chrome Extension, but probably closer to 5% than 25%.
  • I think it's important for 3rd party devs to introduce themselves to the community before launching apps. I think when apps spring out of nowhere people are naturally skeptical as to what it's about. I think Steemfest2 would have been an ideal platform to introduce an app like this.

I would like to an app like Steemir form part of the core Steemit product. I see it as a build out from Steemit that can help adoption. Would be great to see the developer and Steemit Inc link up to make Steemir (or a chrome extension) an option for introducing people to Steem and Steemit.

Just my two-cents worth!

P.S. I like the Promo vids... the website is pretty nice too...

Sort:  

Maaaaaan 25%?
Hell to the naw!

I too had reservations about the Steemir app when I saw the post(s) the other day. Your observations are spot on. I also thought the 25% cut was way too high. Additionally, the person that was introducing the app had just started on steemit just last month. It did feel like we were being used. Thanks for informing the steemit family about this product. It may be a good product, but the way it was presented didn't sit right with me. Again, thanks for your valuable insight. (self upvoted for exposure)

I think Steemit developers should develop more ways to advertise this amazing platform and do a little more work on improving the platform in general. Such as adding notifications when you get an upvote, comment, or reply to your posts. This is an amazing platform with amazing potential but needs a lot more work to be done.

Great post. Interesting read. Have a great day my friend. :)

Totally agree, still a bit wicked on service and facilities to move inside , I think on the point you are in need to be easy. To use the service with out use the biggest password y never used

I think they have amazing potential, and this is a good platform but the details on it are not still there yet. The details which would make it a great platform. Such as notifications for incoming comments, replies, upvotes, and resteems. I think you can change the password to anything you want if you are having trouble with it.

I thought I lost my main password the other day. I borrowed my laptop to a friend and he accidentally deleted all my sticky notes and my password with it. lol I managed to find a way to recover it, but it was a very very close call to losing my blog. @juanmallorca

I agree with you I'm just new

Great feedback on Steemir and some very valid points.

The 25% is too much. 5-8% is much more realistic. Dtube is currently the same way taking 25% which will deter users from using their project.

While I love the introduction video, I agree having a presence on the platform before launching your project would go a long way in developing trust and building some relationships before the launch of your App.

Having to visit Steemit to sign up is a downside and the waiting period a deterrent for new users not familiar to Steemit. This might have to be a fix implemented after HF 20 when the sign up process is streamlined.

All in all great feedback and agree on all points. You and the family have a great Sunday man!

25% cut dies sounds a tad bit too much. Possibly puting off potential Youtubers looking to make some quick bucks.

Tho i must concede its a nifty tool to make posting videos easier..

Most probably the rates are going to come down after a while otherwise im afraid not many people will find 25% worth it.

for YouTubers​ and vloggers, ​it seems to be a useful application. I am waiting for the function to upload video natively to steemit.

But the margin they take is​ damn huge!

That is a very lovely extension
I must get it
Thanks for letting us know

Sheesh 25% .. eh it's a nice feature, is it worth it ? Not sure . Us humans can be lazy so maybe I would lol

Nice,, but i see that tittle text steemir 😊
I think that wrong text. When i read all. I know now.. Thanks for share

Good concept , sir voted ,follow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62499.32
ETH 2450.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66