Morel Hunter Vlog | How To Find Wild Mushrooms: Forest Eyes

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)


It's spring, all the signs are here. Now Morels start coming up.

Perhaps you've been out hunting before and haven't found anything. Maybe you don't know what to look for at all!

AEB93E6B-90C4-45A5-9F05-29B198F1A738.jpeg

Morels

In this video, I walk through the forest telling you what I'm doing, the HOW of hunting for wild mushrooms.

I go through what to look for, how to harvest and give you a "scan" of the forest to see if you can spot the morel!

I also found a "false morel", Gyromitra caroliniana, (read more here), which is poisonous.

B68A80C9-4703-4A34-934B-D90FB036D08C.jpeg

False Morel! Know what to look for!

In a previous Steemit article, I shared some "indicator species" to look out for when morel hunting.

I didn't go into that very much in this vlog, but you can check out that very helpful post here, Tips For Finding Morels | The Time of the Morel Mushroom Is Nigh.

Remember, if you can't correctly identify it, never eat a mushroom you've found in the wild! Some mushrooms can kill you within hours.

  • One of the easiest ways to distinguish false morels from true is IF THE INSIDE IS HOLLOW. If it's hollow, it's a true morel.

  • They have a pitted cap and are attached to the stem.

  • Again, if you're not certain, do more ID research or go out with someone who knows what they're looking for. Always cook morels well (we love to fry them in butter and salt! mmmm!) before ingesting.

21468990-8107-43D8-9D1C-4E34D748C101.jpeg

Morel in the forest

Happy Hunting! Feel free to ask us questions!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

they are so beautiful!!!!!! we are heading out on a family hike this weekend....to see if we can spot some morels and other mountain goodies!!! thank you so much for these tips!!!! re steemed!!

enjoy your hike! so good you're getting your little one out to be connected with nature so soon. <3

How long did it take you to get comfortable picking wild mushrooms? I pick a few but I am nervous about picking something not edible...

in college i got really into it and would spend hours looking. a good rule of thumb is to get very familiar with the ones you're looking for AND their look-alikes! know if one you're searching for has any poisonous analogs. that information is pretty easy to find. once you are familiar with what you're looking for and what you're not , it's an easier time i think. also, know the ones like death angel in the amanita family that you absolutely should stay away from. mushrooms get a scary rep, but that's just usually when you're first through the gate. not too many mushrooms will kill you, but i figure it's a safe deterrent warning for those not willing to put the time in to really learn. get a book for your area or meet some people into it. if you pick 3 species this year to keep an eye out for, you may start to feel more comfortable. i myself don't know too many species, but i do know the ones i know quite well, if ya know what i mean lol. happy hunting!

Hmmm, everytime I watch a Dtube video somehow it automatically uses my posting roll to follow itself. I am going to have to boycott Dtube...Have you tried Dlive? They keep your video's longer and don't take part of your rewards.

I have gotten onto dlive but couldn’t quite figure it out. Also I wonder if my country WiFi speed could actually stream?

You can upload video's to it just like any other platform. I don't think you have to live stream.

That's funny because I used to eat false morels quite a bit and never got sick from them. From what I had read at the time, the geographical location mattered on whether or not you got sick.

I was just lucky I guess.

Thanks for sharing that tidbit. Having not tried the false morels myself, it's good to know this. Lucky or iron stomached ;)

Oh thank you so much for this little video! I like the way you explain your gaze... relaxing your eyes is key for sure. I'm hoping it will be our season very soon.

You know I have never tasted them, but I want to!

Thanks again

PS: Have you seen this site: https://www.thegreatmorel.com/morel-sightings/

oh man i hope you get to taste em this year!! are yall back in new york? fried up with a little butter n salt mmmmmm!! another person shared that site too, i'll check it out :)

Yep, back in New York... not quite in the country but soon, plus we go on weekends for now. Last year my 3 year old found us a morel (pointed at it, papa look look :)) I didn't know the difference yet between a true morel and false one, so we didn't touch it.

I'll remember that, butter and salt, Thanks!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54150.70
ETH 2268.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27