You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 Reasons Why Steemians Are Not DTube Creators / Answer To @NathanMars - D00k13 Digest #148

in #vlog6 years ago

I don't wanna post vids on DTUbe because they will disappeared from DTube after one month. My work is useless. I have skills and tools i just don't wanna waste my work. Also DTube is mainly vloging site, and mostly vlogs are low quality and/or copy paste same topics etc.

I can post videos on DTube then also on YT and put link form YT to DT, but then for what I need DTube if I can have my videos nearly forever? To get upvotes? I wanna build community around me not only cash :)

I can buy server and host my own IPFS Server but that costs me too much money currently, also I have problems with place for that server to run him 24/7. Also I don't know how to even find proper information to host server. I'm not programing guy but it's not anybody business because I don't have that server :D

Also this is additional but, I know that OneLoveDtube thanks to @techcoderx, he is greate guy, have IPFS server and can host videos, but I don't wanna use somebody resources. Greate job guys from your group but I'm asking about DTube, why they can;t solve this problem.

Dtube can't fight with YT because It can't solve common problems like uploading and watching videos problems and of course lifetime. People from YT and other sites like Vimeo, Dailymotion etc. Have this problem solved and also thy don't have to pay for hosting their videos. We wanna bring more people but you will keep bringing only vlogers. For example I can post graphics tutorials, and this will be available only for month, so who will gonna use? I don't wanna share my experience and skills only for limited group of people.
And the same in second side, if I wanna learn something from somebody now who posted something few months ago I have to go to YouTube to watch it, not on DTube :(

To be honest I really understand that having servers etc. costs and sties I mention them before have great and very expensive severs, but if I wanna build stuff only for DTube and Steemit community why lifetime of videos and uploading/watching videos problems has to be MY problem? Why trying to improve and promote my videos can not be my problem only?

I really hope that DTube will solve problems of their, the first thing should be solving watching and uploading problems

Sort:  

So comparing DTube and YouTube isn’t fair unless you look at the evolution of the platforms along with their subsequent hurdles they had to overcome....

First off DTube started off ahead as it’s monetized right from day one where YT was not for at least the first few years furthermore both platforms had multiple issues with lost uploads(very early YT).

Secondly YT had to build the online file hosting systems and evolve them to fit their needs thus the beginning of cloud style expand on demand systems. Tech with DTube is still evolving but immediately you have the option of hosting your own files in a true decentralized manner which means no one I repeat no one can censor your creations with IPFS self hosted files. It is a decentralized system we are working with which means no central body to take down and expanding their network for file support is widely encouraged, think about how successful torrents have been. There are systems being built such as Nebulus App which will make it so you can pay for hosting your files very simply and with minimal expense if you choose not to run your own ipfs node, remember we can earn from videos on day one of DTube launch.

My solution to the hosting/playability/upload problem is to create a desktop app for uploading that also operates as an all in one IPFS node making self hosting simple and automatic. This should also eliminate the problems of uploading as you would only be submitting your hashes already generated for pinning on the DTube node for extra bandwidth and well it would be your choice when to eliminate the files.

If you don’t see the value in a decentralized video platform feel free to link your YouTube videos but I doubt your posts will get much in the way of attention or income and you will need to be wary of censorship.

What I see as DTube’s biggest strength is the fact we already have a fairly tight knit group of creators within the DTube community which it took years to build up to that with YT.

Comparing the two platforms side by side isn’t quite fair or accurate unless you plot the evolution on a timeline and speculate where DTube will be after the same amount of time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

At current time is hard to compare DT to YT, we have to wait at this moment I have problems with DTube so I will wait and see what's will be next DT move. I wish for DT best.

Soliton abou having your own IPFS at you desktop can be usable, even very usable :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55