You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlog 3: Your Roadmap To Turn Stinky Gingko Fruit into Free Food - Foraging 101

in #vlog7 years ago

One of my favorite things to forage for is morel mushrooms, actually it is the only mushroom I know how to forage for.
The ginkgo seams like a lot of work for something that is toxic kind of reminds me of pokeweed.
I like both the vlog and post. Thanks for the info.

Sort:  

Morels are definitely worth foraging for! Gingko nuts are too, I think. And pokeweed! You raise some interesting points about effort vs. reward in foraging, and foods that come with precautions.

From my view, baking bread is work. Cooking a chicken is work and carries risks, too, if it's not cooked well enough or if cleanup isn't good enough. And I know I'm not supposed to drink too much beer, lol. Or eat that whole bag of cookies! Gingko nuts are definitely better for me than beer, cookies, or even bread. There are so many things that are fine in moderation, but there are limits to that. At least with the gingko nuts, I can keep them in the shell, dried, for a long time. Getting the gingko nuts out of their fruit is so much easier than dealing with the husks of walnuts, by a lot! And if it's all too much trouble, we can always go out to eat! ; ) Thanks for your comment!

I just posted yesterday tips for finding morels and yeah there is a lot of effort involved especially for first timers like me last year or when exploring new places

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64937.78
ETH 3242.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63