The Gear I Use + Tips for Making Quality Video Content While Traveling

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

I am a total minimalist when it comes to travel. I hate checking bags and prefer to just throw a backpack on my back and go. As a vlogger, this can create some challenges for making great video content while traveling, because I obviously can’t pack my big tripods and soft box lights in my carry-on.

This last week I was at the Steem Creators Conference, and some of you may have seen the vlog’s my sister @maryjaney and I published while in Vegas. I had a few people ask me (both at the conference and in my posts) what kind of gear I was using – and so I thought I’d share those details with you!

Even though I’m dropping a lot of information here in the text of the post, I actually get a little deeper on each topic in the video – so be sure to watch that if you want to learn more!

The Main Key’s to Quality Video Content


I’ve spent some time curating small and portable pieces of equipment and so here is a rundown of each piece that “made the packing list”. Below I will dig into exactly why I use each piece and how it contributes to better video content. Honestly, these tips will have some good takeaways for filming when you are at home as well.

Instead of just listing equipment, I’m going to break it down into different aspects of making good video content – and then include the equipment that supports that goal below it.

1. Stable Video Footage


This is KEY. Have you ever watched a video of someone talking that gives you motion sickness just from the movement of their camera? I think if you are out and about (or taking video of karaoke…hehe), it’s okay to have some handheld footage, but if you are sitting down to film a vlog – you want to have the camera perfectly still.

This is where a small, portable tripod comes in! I LOVE my Joby Gorillapod. It packs down into a small package and serves a few purposes. It can be put on a table and used as a standard tripod, and it can also attach itself to all sorts of surfaces! Because the legs are flexible, you can literally wrap it around a tree branch, or perch it in some unusual locations. This means that I can sometimes get more interesting shots. Besides, it is ultra-lightweight and can comfortably fit in my purse when I am out on the town.

Joby Gorrillapod for SmartPhones

Price - $21

0B5CEEA6-54B1-40E6-A522-492355181861.jpeg


2. Good Lighting


Bad lighting can really downgrade the overall look and feel of your video. Portable light solutions are never going to be as good as big softbox lights, but even something small can make a HUGE difference.

I debated packing a portable outdoor light, but those are still a little bulky. Instead, I decided to try out a simple selfie ring light! I was pretty blown away by how well it worked. Filming in a hotel room can be super tricky because the lighting is usually terrible and creates a lot of shadows. By clipping the selfie ring light to my phone, we were able to drastically improve the video quality.

This is especially important for those filming on their iPhone or some other “lower quality” recording device… ie not a big DSLR. If you don’t have good lighting, filming on an IPhone can look pretty grainy. It was pretty awesome, because @scottshots did a presentation at the Steem Creator Conference about improving the quality of your photos – and he actually recommended the same selfie light as a good travel option!

Qiaya Selfie Ring Light

Price - $15.99

AF4A41B9-0C7C-46B9-976E-594E523101E7.jpeg

3. Good Audio Quality


This is one of the trickiest parts of making good video content on the go. Unless you are in your hotel room or somewhere that is very quiet – you are going to need a microphone. Even then, how you use the microphone can make a big difference. People want to hear crisp and clear audio when they are listening to a vlog, otherwise it just gets distracting and a little hard to listen to.

My sister and I used my microphone for all three recap videos we did about the conference. In the first one – we were in our hotel room, which helped us have clear audio. The second day, we setup by the pool and filmed outside. This video didn’t end up being the best because there was some background noise of people walking by, planes overhead, and music in the background. By the third day, we started to experiment a little more. We filmed in the airport which would usually have a TON of background noise. Instead of just setting up the mic on my mini tripod – we used it as a handheld and held it right to our mouths. This made a WORLD of difference and our audio was crystal clear.

I just packed my microphone that I always use at home because it is super compact and portable. If you have a bigger mic at home, it may be worth investing in a smaller microphone you can travel with. Even if you go with something a little lower quality like X, it should still give you way better results, and won’t break the bank to pick up either.

Apogee Professional Microphone for Iphone/Ipad/Mac

Price - $229

92CAFE83-EB5E-4C21-9C3F-D7F65DB2210D.jpeg


4. A Way to Process/Upload your Content


I brought my MacBook Pro to process and load the videos I was making. This is definitely the bulkiest item on this list, but for me it was worth it. I like having the full capabilities of my laptop with me to make sure I’m putting out great video content. If you would prefer to cut this step out, there are video editing software you can use on your phone (such as iMovie if you have an IPhone) that you can use instead. Just make sure to test out fully editing and uploading a few videos before you leave for your trip to make sure you work out all the kinks.

If you are bringing a laptop – maybe try getting a more compact case to reduce it’s footprint. I’m really happy with the soft case I bought for mine. It doesn’t take up much room, but is water resistant, drop proof and super inexpensive to boot. Even though it is a soft case, the side walls of the case are made of a thicker material that can better protect the laptop.

Lacdo Laptop Sleeve

Price – $12.99

4718AC1F-8D44-4BDC-8B32-3B787CD227BC.jpeg

5. Don’t Forget a Portable Battery Pack!


If you are out and about filming, taking photos, looking up directions, finding good restaurants – your battery is at risk of dying during the day. You don’t want to miss out on good moments because your phone or camera ran out of battery. This is why I always travel with a portable battery pack.

My favorite is the Aker. Not only are they a great brand, but this particular device serves a few purposes for me. First of all, it plugs into the wall and has two USB openings – so it works as my charger AND allows me to charge two devices at once. This way, if I want to charge my phone, Ipad, apple watch, or selfie ring – I can tackle two things at once.

The other reason I love this is because it also charges ITSELF while it is plugged in and acts as a portable battery pack! This means I don’t have to remember to charge it, I can just unplug it from the wall when I’m ready to leave and it’s all good to go. I’ve fully charged my phone and Ipad on this without trouble.

Anker PowerCore Fusion Charger/Portable Battery Pack

Price –$25.99

4089DDA4-0EC6-4EA8-9D82-B615E33F776A.jpeg

There You Have It!


I hope you guys enjoyed getting a peak into my bag to see what equipment I use to make video content on the go. The goal was to find equipment that gets the job done and takes up as little room as possible in my bag. Please don’t hesitate to ask if you have any questions regarding anything I mention in this post.

I have spent a little time curating these pieces, but am still always looking to improve. I’d love to hear if you guys have any suggestions for other and/or different items that could help enhance video content creation while traveling.

Xo, Lea

8252C8CC-104B-4627-8598-393EC95AD810.jpeg

This video is approximately 10 minutes in length.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is just what I needed! I've been trying my hand at vlogging only to become discouraged and feel like I've wasted precious time. With homesteading, homeschooling & 4 kids running around, every minute has to feel productive! Ha! I don't always have the time for an elaborate setup, or if I do have the time it's usually because the kids are asleep so I have to work with whatever corner I can be sneaky in. Anyway, I definitely need to look into the mini-tripod because my most recent post (that you happen to be mentioned in, BTW) is really shakey, I just realized. I'm wincing as I'm watching it, but damn it, I'm posting it anyway, because I just have to start somewhere, right? So, thanks for the tips. I'm also looking into the lighting because I SO need that too! I did pick up the Blue Yeti, but that's obviously too big to carry around, but if I get the time to record some tunes again, will be instrumental in getting a better sound. Thanks for all the great info!

rob chen 50px.png I think Iris and I have the same tripod, definitely recommend it! :) I just needed to find the connecting piece somewhere in the house, otherwise we would've brought ours

So great meeting you and @maryjaney, you sisters are awesome! :D

that was quick. I use completaly different gear. But as we say in Germany, many ways lead to Rome! Good luck creating!

Oohh Id love to hear what equipment you use!! It’s always interesting to see what other people are doing.

Thanks again for the question the other day which sparked the idea for this post! 😊

i am quite a low budgeter :D - i do more journalistic content so I focus more on the gathering information, topics and people. I would like to hire someone to improve and maintain video quality.

I recently got interviewed about Cryptocurrency and i was lucky that my steemit shirt was clean and dry. :D

Norbert Höfer.jpg

@nuoviso has a big studio , several staff members but somehow i am more succesful on steemit than them. Hope they catch up.

IMG_20180411_174754_443.jpg
Talking about politics can be fun sometimes - Steem Shirt even fitting to the color of my jacket :D

Thanks for the shout out @coruscate! Great gear advice, that ring light is a nice one for the cost. I'm going to have to look into that battery pack as I brought and used a little one too but that one looks a lot better. Cheers!

Edit: I just added the battery pack to my amazon wish list, thank you!

Awesome!! I freaking love that Anker battery pack. It’s made life so much easier. 😊

Cool, good to know, thank you! My little battery pack only charges the phone by about 20% but that one looks like you can get a full charge. Next round of gear purchases it will be mine...

I meant to ask you about your equipment, so I was excited to see this post!! It was so great to meet you this weekend - hope to see you again when I'm in the northwest! :)

Oh that’s awesome!! I’m glad the timing of this post worked out.

I LOVED getting to meet you and @richardcrill and I would really love to make something happen when you guys are up this way! ♥️

The mini tripods are always a must! We love gorilla pods

Awesome to hear!! Gorilla pods are so versatile. 😊

Your Dtube Videos are amazing

Thank you!!

Awesome tips and items. I think I'll invest in the tripod first. Thanks for sharing these great items!

Amazing tips as always

Well I guess this answers my question about what you're carrying in the suitcase for the steem sisters show!
I have to admit I like to travel light, packing for every occasion is just too much work and being spontaneous is much more fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79