How Vlogging on Dtube has Helped Me Advance in my Career

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

I want to talk a little about how vlogging everyday on Dtube for the last five months has had a really positive impact the value I can bring to my day job. I really do think that getting comfortable in front of the camera can have a lot of positive benefits for multiple areas of life! I have personally found that my public speaking skills have also improved by vlogging - simply because I am getting better at speaking.

What is my Day Job?


I work as an account manager in sales. What is really cool is that a couple years ago I was working in Customer Care, but I saw a need in the organization that I knew I could fill. It took about a year to get approved – but they have now created a position specifically for me based on my recommendations.

Formerly, our sales reps handled all of the accounts in their geographic territory – no matter what size they were. What I noticed, is that these reps were really overworked and thus spent almost all of their time focusing on their top accounts. This made a lot of sense because that is where the money is! They each had troves of smaller “mom and pop” shops that really never got any attention or service. The reps simply didn’t have time to visit them.

I suggested that we create an internal position that handles all of these smaller accounts and works with them remotely using phone an email communication. Even though they wouldn’t have a rep who could physically step into their store – they would getting a much higher level of service – which should help these accounts grow and add the bottom line of the company.

It’s been fun to work with these accounts, and see the positive impact that a higher level of service has yielded. I quickly became aware that training and new product training would be a challenge to accomplish via email and phone though.

So I started making videos to cover these topics!

My first few videos were super rough as I worked through my nerves on camera! Since I’ve started vlogging though – the quality of my videos has dramatically increased! In fact, they are now using me to film training videos for our top accounts because they have seen the value they can bring.

Vlogging Has Opened more Doors for My Career


Like I just mentioned, I went from filming quick, informal videos for my small accounts – to being recognized by top management. They are now viewing my videos as a huge resource for the organization. Not only am I filming training videos for our top accounts – but I have filmed product pitch videos that has brought in huge orders and really increased revenue.

They have invested in higher quality film equipment – and we actually just developed a specific film studio in our main headquarters where I work. As a company, we are starting to utilize live streaming more often as well.

In fact, what sparked the idea for this video was that last week I got a last minute request to do a 30 minute live streamed presentation. Yikes! Even though I was nervous… my vlogging experience allowed me to handle the situation with grace.

Let’s Make More Videos… I’m Rooting For You!


What’s the point of me sharing this? I know a lot of people who have dabbled with vlogging, or haven’t started yet - but want to. I think that video content is really the way of the future, and the more video content we can produce here on the platform – the faster Steemit will grow!

Not only that, but I really do think there is a lot of value in improving your speaking skills. Not only have I been able to bring value to the company I work for, but it also helped me to give a better presentation at the Steem Creators Conference. You really never know how or where this skill will come in handy.

I love you guys and I’m rooting for you! Whenever I see a video of someone putting themselves out of their comfort zone – it seriously makes me want to give them a hug, an upvote and a super encouraging comment! I know what it feels like to sound nervous or look awkward on camera – but it’s so worth pushing through that fear!

Thanks so much for watching! If you have any thoughts or comments from this vlog, please feel free to leave them below. <3

Xo,Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

Please support Dtube and stream this video through their service. Here is a YouTube link for anyone who needs it though.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations on your success. Practice makes perfect. Who knew what doors opened because you took the time so share with others your interests, thoughts, passions, and talents through video. You are a shining example of what is possible. Come a long way since the first open mic posts. Wishing you continued success. See you in Toronto. 😉

Aww thanks my friend!! I am SO happy to have met you. Seriously, Vegas has been a major highlight in my time on Steemit and I know we have many more cool moments to come! Speaking of that... when is Toronto again?? hehe

Well done Lea!
So many people just do their job... I see it all the time, it really takes someone who actually properly cares to recognize a problem, come up with a solution and then continually push for it to be approved. Management listened to you, invested in you and now they are romping in the rewards... and you'll always have this now... I guarantee you'll use this experience in future job interviews! So good!

I actually started vlogging last week, inspired by you, your sister and the incredible @bethwheatcraft! I'm still super terrible at it, but committing to doing it every day has totally punched up my skillz already! It's super exciting. My vlogging account is @ninjavideo if anyone wants to watch me monkey around...

wow, SO cool that you just started vlogging!! I'm going to check out your new account as soon as I post this reply! :)

Great point about this being a good story for future interviews! I kinda hope that once I finally jump on the "self-employed" wagon, I won't ever have to go back. But It's STILL a good story. hehe

Thanks for always leaving such thoughtful responses!

Amazing, congrats!! Yes I think Vlogging and Steemit will massively improve all our lives. You're really leading the way with this and I think it's inspiring lots of people to get out there and share their voice too 💗

aww thanks my friend! I'm so excited to see you crushing it on here! <3

That is so awesome!! I’ve always wondered what your day job was! So great you can use your vlogging skills at work!
When I did YouTube it was a way to help me improve my singing and vocalising! Now dtube helps me vlog
(never did that before!)

aww you are so sweet! It's amazing how putting yourself out there on camera can help in so many ways. Awesome to hear it has helped with both music and speaking!

aww you are so sweet! It's amazing how putting yourself out there on camera can help in so many ways. Awesome to hear it has helped with both music and speaking!

I feel the same way. I never put myself out before and started to do Dtube videos help me a lot now I finally put myself out in my business :) And everyday I want be be better creator. You are the best @coruscate xoxo

Magic happens when we put ourselves out into the world!! What is your business?

Keep up the amazing content @anne-c! <3

It's beauty and health business and its probably a must! to put my self out a little bit haha 😂 but I was always scared and stay hidden. My business will grow a lot when I start to be confident. I will try my best to create something different to help growing the platform :)
❤️❤️❤️

What's mean muse project?

Thanks for your question! The Muse Project is a collective of women helping to empower women on the blockchain. You can follow the @museproject to see more awesome content! :)

Like

How Vlogging on Dtube has Helped Me Advance in my Career has been resteemed by @resteemmuse

Thanks for sharing your experience about vlogging. Love it and hope to start one day

It's a lot of fun! Let me know if you have any question and i'll do my best to help!

Will do if I have some questions. Thank you

solo.jpg Full Movie
***** https://4khd.win/movie/348350/solo-a-star-wars-story.html
Title : Solo: A Star Wars Story
Release : 2018-05-23
Runtime : 135 min.
Genre : Action, Adventure, Science Fiction
Stars : Alden Ehrenreich, Woody Harrelson, Emilia Clarke, Donald Glover, Joonas Suotamo, Paul Bettany
Production Company : Lucasfilm
Overview : Through a series of daring escapades deep within a dark and dangerous criminal underworld, Han Solo meets his mighty future copilot Chewbacca and encounters the notorious gambler Lando Calrissian.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61609.18
ETH 3390.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48