Homeschooling?

in #vlog6 years ago


Short one today. Our son just started high school in August and it’s not going well. He’s got Asperger’s and the school just doesn’t know how to deal with him. It’s a real shame as his primary school teacher was amazing.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It is difficult to find people who understand the condition of a child, whatever it may be, I believe it is a matter of humanity. Children with some special condition, came into the world for a reason, you just have to help them find what their mission in life and that is achieved with the love of family and school education. I leave you my best wishes and sent you a lot of good energy so that with faith and patience, you can get help from the right people, for your son.
Good vibes.

Thank you for the thoughtful comment. We have our meeting later today. I have to fight not to feel intimidated in the meeting as I feel like a naughty school kid as soon as I enter the school. My school was terrible and I was a wayward kid. I’m getting better at going in as a parent though. I appreciate your good wishes.

No person is born with a book under his arm, with instructions that teach how to be parents. But love can do everything, trust you and your father's love.

You, the parents, know your child and know what's good for him.We tend to put too much importance on what the teachers think and we don't trust our children enough.
This is because of how the system is built, we replaced patriarchal and matriarchal societies, with the almighty establishment as our parents, as if we are not fully equipped to raise our children.
Our children are way younger, but we decided since the beginning of the year that homeschooling is the only way to go for now.

Good Luck at the meeting with the "headmaster"(that sounds scary!!!) and I will see you at the Steemfest :)
I gotta do my bag, I haven't got out of South Africa for the last 6 years, nor left the kids even one day !

Thank you for your thoughtful response. I totally agree and we've always thought that way. In fact, we did homeschool Hamish for a couple of years when his primary school just wasn't working for him. I've read a few books and I know that it really does make sense for him. We're not quite there yet, but it feels like it's coming.

Funny you should mention the scary headmaster. He actually went to the same school as me and was a couple of years below; for some weird reason that school year hierarchy of whoever's above you is automatically senior by sole virtue of age helps me not to feel intimidated by him. My school failed me in a big way and I didn't see that until I was in my 30s with a masters degree and a retired teacher pointed out to me that the school had as much of a role to play as I did. Weird.

I've got a lot of SF3 planning to do in the next couple of days as I'm busy at the weekend. Better get my case down from the attic. See you soon!

Thanks for this honest response, homeschooling can have its own challenge, but it's my turn to be honest:
I've never fitted at school, I was an outcast, and I wish someone would have taken me out of the system and give me a real chance.
I know my children and I can already see that they will struggle the same way I did, so let's just try our own route, and avoid all non constructive critics in the meantime.
I notice as well, I am trying to stay away from other parents, because they always seem to want to compare our children, like we're speaking of car engines, which is absurd...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83