A Must-Try VR Experience!!

in #virtualreality6 years ago

Every once in a while, I try to take a moment and appreciate the exponential acceleration of technology in our (pardon the cliche) brave new world. Universal connectivity and communication seem to get easier by the second and pieces of tech that have a tremendous amount of utility or entertainment value (or both!) pop up damn near every day.

Along those lines, I recently received my first introduction to the virtual reality world when my family bought me the Samsung Gear VR for Christmas. I had transitioned from my previous defunct phone to a Galaxy S8 a few months before and realized I finally had a chance to try out Samsung’s VR offerings if I got my hands on the corresponding headset.

So an hour into Christmas morning, there I was with the bulky head set on my face, reacting to my first VR experience just like one of those awkward, “whoa!”-screaming, completely-flipping-their-shit peeps from the Samsung commercial. If you want a good laugh, check it out:

Compelling stuff right? I think everyone that watches the commercial, titled All The Feels, is leaning forward into their screen with just one question looming, nagging the holy hell out them: “Mother Mary!! What are they watching?!?!”

The answer is probably no single VR program in particular but a variety instead, as the catalogue of VR apps is quickly exploding. If you want to be scared, be moved, be thrilled, be flying, there is indeed, "a (VR) app for that.”

And while riding rollercoasters and playing a scary mystery game is totally worth trying, there’s one app that, I feel, captures the virtual world beautifully…

Lands End was built by the creators of Monument Valley (another great puzzle game for your phone, highly recommend!), and is set on an ocean island that you explore by solving connect-the-dot type puzzles. Sound mundane and boring? Ooooh no, my friend.

In fact, this game covers a wide spectrum of appeals from making you feel like a superhero (moving big boulders with your mind (actually by your sight, but you get it) or flying Superman-style across the island) to triggering an almost spiritual effect with the subtle sound of ocean waves lapping against the shore and a light, inspiring soundtrack playing in the background.

Remember that part in the video around the 0:55 mark where the lady takes off the headset and has tears in her eyes? (And you’re like,”Oh c’mon, Samsung. It’s not that good.”) Well, I am NOT saying the game had me equally glassy-eyed. However, at the conclusion of the game, I fully admit I did feel the let-down of the game being over combined with a warmth of having enjoyed a VR experience that was as immersive as it was rewarding.

Feel like checking it out? Click on the link here for Land’s End’s trailer and where to buy the great (and cheap: $5.99) game:

http://www.landsendgame.com/

Hit me up with feedback or questions! Until next time, keep on Steem’n!!

Sort:  

What kind of self respect do I have as a geek to admit o haven’t tried these yet?

Sweet seaside taffy @coldsteem! You gotta get on it! A lot of options out there too, from the top tier Oculus rift to the affordable Google Cardboard. It's worth it I promise, just be sure to try a game like Lands End with headphones. The immersion is what makes it.

I really need to try VR...

I want to know that feeling! Hope I get to test it soon enough XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63