Oculus/Facebook is Blocking Virtual Reality from the Web on Purpose

in #virtual7 years ago

aframe.jpgI'm a web Designer/Developer in Denver, Colorado and my passion now is designing VR in A-Frame (a-frame.io.)

But, I found that I can no longer click on the launch in VR button and find my web page in the Oculus headset as full VR.
I searched on the Web for a solution. I installed the correct developer browsers and add-ons to them to make VR work to no avail.
Then, as I was researching apps in GearVR I noticed that Facebooks new web browser actually hid my launch in VR icon. Yes, I watched it vanish from the browser window.

Why would Oculus/Facebook do this?
They have a walled off app store like Apple and they may want to monetize that before the open web swallows them whole.
So, they blocked Vive/Oculus apps from launching in their store so people have moved to Steam. Seeing the promise of the web browsers begining to access the GPU's directly they may feel threatened and so have blocked WebVR altogether.

And, Facebook has their own programming language for VR but built in JavaScript called ReactVR. This competes with A-Frame, the HTML like coding language that I'm using.

Why do I like A-Frame? With one line of code that looks like an image tag in HTML I can create a 3D object. The logic of A-Frame is so similar to HTML that it's easy to learn. It comes with components that extend the functionality for interactivity. So, with Javascript components one can work with interactivity with out knowing much JavaScript unlike ReactVR.

It's possible that I have a misconfigured machine but with all of the people asking the same question I'm not so sure.

Sort:  

Congratulations @luiting57! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41