You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Force the Same as Violence?

in #violence8 years ago

This caught my attention as I was recently ruminating on the term "police force" and police violence in America. I was turning over the connotations of power with "force" and how, when applied to certain social groups, includes violence. My thoughts are not yet clear, so I am unsure this comment is clear. My goal is to share this is of great interest to me, and ask if you have any thoughts on the active relationship between force, violence and American police.

Sort:  

Well, the police operate under an authoritarian centralized governance that allows them to harm others and get away with it. It's an abuse of power and force as violence. If you do no harm to others, they can still poiunt a gun at you, and coerce you into a cage (prison). They are state gang thugs, like a mafia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61615.30
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60