You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Does the West Abhor Depictions of Sex but Glorify Violence?

in #violence5 years ago

As many others, there are points I agree with and disagree with. To me, the glaring disagreement comes from the generalization "west". That goes with "generalizations are always wrong" :-D

Worldwide, there are people that will agree with what you say. And worldwide there are people that will disagree with what you say. I live in "the west" and my personal view is that I abhor the depictions of sex AND violence in the media.

Like it or not, there are plenty of studies that correlate increases in depictions with increases in real-world actions.

What can you do about it? Well, if you are a Bible reader (note: I did not say church-goer) the answer is you can do nothing about it. I am responsible for me. I am also responsible to teach people the Bible's views. If some listen, great! If not, I have done my part.

In short, and in my opinion: Bible prophecies state this world will get worse. Bible instruction says (counterintuitively) we will be happiest if we follow its counsel. Part of that counsel includes non-violence and sex only within the marital arrangement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49