"A flap of skin, an open wound, a dying man, and some gun shots ..." - my day ...

in #violence6 years ago (edited)

"The flap of skin on my neck is a membrane ... the puss and parasites ... they're inside me ..."

This is what the dude muttered ...

"I can hear you thinking about my flap ... my flap is spreading blood and disease ... it's dripping all over the place ..."

That strange dude that was walking ahead of me yesterday, as I made my way to the bank to have them print another bank card ... cuz ... I left my debit card in the ATM machine ... and the ATM swallowed it.

That dude, with the disconnected flap of skin on his neck, knew I was walking near him - his sense of "other" triggered the statements, for shock, for connection. And yes - there was some skin, a flap, viscera, and an open wound on this guy's neck ... and maybe an eye peering out from that strange wound, as if something true is left as residue from the "Evil Dead" series of films ...

Just another crazy homeless person walking the streets of Little Saigon ...

And then there was the dude who had the heart attack near the bank, you know - I had to print a new debit card. This old man, homeless man, collapsed in the street - thankfully, it's "Pill Hill", so emergency support is always near ...

But late last night, really, a few hours ago ...

Two gun shots, two reports, some screams ...

I live on the 5th floor and leave my window open in the summertime, and so I heard it all. The tires squealing, the generals sense that some gang-banger or OG or dude with a gun in a car had taken out some other dude (or multiple dudes).

The sirens came next, a few of them, and it was clear to me that someone had died - and this is ok ...

Because life is hard in the city ...

And all of this is a normal kind of thing to happen, on a normal kind of day ...

And at least it's "Pill Hill" ...

(emergency support is always so near)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77