Vinyl Research #4: Cheap Trick - "Cheap Trick"

in #vinylresearch6 years ago (edited)

I select a record at random and find out what I can about it on the internet.

Cheap Trick's 1977 debut album contains no B-side. Instead one side is designated Side A and the other as Side 1. It's debatable what the correct order is. According to their Wikipedia page, a later CD reissue had the order as Side 1 then Side A.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheap_Trick_(1977_album)

The album cover features the band dressed up in nice clothes but clearly not looking the least bit like they care. They almost look like they are in a police line-up, pulled together in a sweep through the city.

DSC02982 (2).JPG

Because the back cover of the original vinyl release has Side A listed first, I am listening to it in that order. That's too bad because "Elo Kiddies" is a perfect opening song for a debut album. I love "Elo Kiddies." It's an anthem and does not let go of the drive...until the song is over. The rest of side 1 slows down the rhythm and loses the drive they unleashed at the beginning of the side. Side A also has some slower stuff. "He's a Whore " and "Elo Kiddies" are easily my favorites but I'm not as into the rest of the album. That's enough of the reviewing. Most people probably only know them for later hits.

DSC03014 (2).jpg

Big Black covered "He's a Whore" in 1986, while Vince Neil covered it in 2010.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/He%27s_a_Whore

It's a bold statement on a debut album to claim you will do anything for money.

Here's a live TV performance of Cheap Trick playing "He's a Whore" in 1977:

DSC02986 (2).JPG

I might be able to get $10 for this on Discogs:

https://www.discogs.com/Cheap-Trick-Cheap-Trick/release/683180

DSC02959 (2).JPG

The center label is basic but I like the design with concentric circles. It acknowledges the rotation of the record, which looks cool while playing. The smaller Epic logo with concentric partial circles is a nice combination.

DSC02971 (2).JPG

DSC02969 (2).JPG

Cheap Trick still plays but drummer Bun E. Carlos is no longer able to tour.

I could research more articles but the early interview below is the best thing I've found. The interviewer is terrible but their responses can get amusing.

Sort:  

Once again, a band I've never heard of. But their nifty solution of avoiding a B-side is so much more than a cheap trick. It's truly ingenious!

It threw me off for awhile as I often got confused as to which song was supposed to be first. You might recognize the songs "I Want You to Want Me" and "Surrender." These were on later albums.

Oh of course! How could I not know 'I Want You To Want Me'? Though I never knew the name of the band was Cheap Trick. The other song was less familiar to me, though I'm sure I've heard it before. Thanks! It's always cool to learn new things about something I've already known.

Super Interesting! Earned yourself a follower! Keep up the good work man.

Thanks! Followed back. I usually post about cycling and movies but I thought I'd try something different.

Well I also love those two things as well, so keep it up my man.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84