My Vinyl Setup

in #vinyl5 years ago


My setup is very basic, but it is also cost effective for someone who wants to get into vinyl but dose not need the most expensive equipment.

The turntable I use is the Audio-Technica AT-LP60 which is one of the most popular starter turntables, and its pretty decent for its price. You can read my full review of it here.

For my stereo System I use the Sony CMT-LX20i Micro Hi-Fi Shelf System which I recommend also, however you can only buy it used now because Sony discontinued it, but I’ve had it for five years and its always sounded great to me.

I don’t own a preamp, tube amp, or sub woofer yet for the following reasons: My turntable has a built in phono-preamp, I don’t make enough money to justify buying a tube amp, and I feel like my speakers produce enough bass without a sub woofer, and I don’t feel like spending hundreds of dollars on one.

The philosophy behind my setup is to have the highest quality setup that you can have while also being fairly cheap, because I’m a cheap bastard, and I get my kicks from collecting records not from owning the highest end, latest hi-fi equipment money can buy, because while high end equipment will sound better, it won’t sound that much better.

For under or about $200 you can buy my exact setup, and all of the cables you need come with the turntable.

Sort:  

Congratulations @nathanyell! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84