Vintage of the Day - There are 4 Vintage Clothing & Jewelry Shows in the CountrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #vintage6 years ago

and one of them is mine. In 1 week it's our first show of the 2018 season.

Chicago Vintage Clothing & Jewelry is the show I've always wanted. I recruit 50 vendors who carry all kinds of vintage (1990's and prior) clothing, jewelry and accessories. I'm going to take you behind the scenes.

Pinterest vintage photography girl in party dress.jpg

My monthly general vintage market is located in the 48th Ward Uptown. This is residential Chicago, not tourist Chicago. It starts in April and is called Vintage Garage Chicago. I don't think steemit really know much about vintage or what I do, I'll fill in you in. Vintage is something that is 1990 and prior with some sort of collectible or resale value. Sounds more simple than it is but that's where you start.

steemit actual Garage.jpg

Below are real live millennials trying on vintage clothes in a parking garage, Uptown. They get it.
Millennials buying and trying on vintage clothes. Millennials love vintage!.jpg

I wanted a specifically targeted vintage fashion and apparel show. LA has a great vintage clothing show, NYC, (of course) and last is part of Brimfield Week- 3 times a year in Massachusetts, 60 miles west of Boston. So can we.

Where do you think good vintage is more affordable? NYC, LA, Boston or Chicago? Correct, Chicago.

I knew we'd get east and west coast dealers who could buy at affordable Illinois prices and go back to the big cities and sell for big city prices. (rents are a lot higher) In NYC and LA there are many who are in the "industry". Costumers, designers looking for inspiration, pattern makers, costume designers, set designers, collectors, historians, enthusiasts, and dealers.

With the Vintage Garage going April through October, the season is the chance to work on that yearly event, CVCJ which from here on out is what we call this show, it's too long to type.

During Garage season, I see what dealers carry the best vintage clothing and who is a good fit. It's a bit more upscale. At the same time, I want all ranges so new collectors will find something great along with seasoned professionals.

My husband and daughter work as well as my onsite manager who handles logistics for set up, break down and everything in between. She takes payments, confirms everyone and everything while I work the recruiting and marketing for the show. I treasure her.

While we are planning and working behind the scenes to make it happen, dealers are steaming, pricing, photographing and some do marketing ahead with their social media channels. Some aren't there yet or never will be. Age of dealer is usually the difference. If they can it helps. Shows can't charge the booth rent they used to because sales aren't the same today. That makes viral online hype more important.

I make them Instagram sized promos featuring their merchandise and the show so they can share. It really does take a village to get the word out in the city. SO many things going on but we have a great following and do plenty of marketing online and locally. Here's a few shots of the show--

6 steemit show pics.jpg

D cvcj- a few of our favorite vintage loving customers!.jpg

I searched for a location where we could stay in the 48th Ward. By some serious miracle, we connected with St. Andrews Church at the corner of Lake Shore Drive and Hollywood. This is a great location in Chicago. Just north of Lincoln Park and at the north end of Lake Shore Drive. A parking LOT?? Come on. They have an amazing Greek Festival in the summer and other great events.

It's old school gymnasium has a stage has a giant picture window looking out onto Lake Shore Drive, you can see Lake Michigan. It's really charming. There's a PARKING LOT. (not easy to find in the city).

The people at St. Andrews are awesome. I've never had better spinach pie in my life, seriously, I KNOW my spinach pie.

This is a great relationship and it has the retro vibe and feel we really wanted and for a first-year show last year, it was GREAT. Our industry has suffered a lot over the past 10 years and it was a show where money was spent. Most promoters aren't starting new shows, just trying to save old ones. I am grateful there's buzz and excitement surrounding our 2nd annual.

I have been a dealer for years, and now that I run the shows full time, I sell once a year and this is it. Monday is usually when things get hectic but we're already sold out for vendors so now it's time to get ready.

I have been a dealer for years, and now that I run the shows full time, I sell once a year and this is it.

I'll show you some of the pieces I'm bringing to sell next and keep you posted on the preparations!

Melissa

Sort:  

Hello! Nice to find such a vintage soul like me😊

I'm so happy to meet another vintage lover!!

Fabulous! If I lived in Chicago, I would totally visit your market! I just love vintage, and I love vintage clothing! This is so cool!

Thanks Beth, appreciate you taking the time to read, great to hear you love vintage too!! So far, there are 4 of us, LOL.

I am very lucky that I am part of VGC and CVCJ. I feel blessed learning new things from a vintage expert like you :)

Thanks its great to have you, now we are so close (by plane) you'll be coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60832.40
ETH 2912.20
BNB 525.30
SBD 2.31