Remembering my times with Vinnie Paul Abbott (pt1)

in #vinniepaul6 years ago

FIRST time I ever met Dime and Vinnie was September 6, 2003. They caught a show at a comedy club in Arlington, Texas. "Let's take a photo", Dime said. Vinnie didn't say a thing, we snapped this photo and they jumped into their limo and headed off into the night.
1st_PICever.jpg

Next time I would see them was November 11, 2003. They were at a show of mine at a comedy club in Fort Worth. After the show, they invited me out BOWLINGafterward! The bowling story and pics are here: https://steemit.com/dimebag/@kidwok/dimebag-darrell-abbot-and-his-favorite-comedian but THIS is mainly about my experiences with Vinnie. He was in the background the WHOLE bowling night. Didn't speak much. Bumped into him at the bowling bar while we were all doing shots. There was a guy bugging the shit outta him and he said, "If I buy you a shot, will you leave us alone?" He hands the guy a shot.... we ALL do our shots... The guy leaves. I thought, "That's an odd way to handle a hyper fan!" Later that night, I got to see Vinnie's house for the 1st time and it was a ROCK NFN ROLL experience.

DSC03258.JPG

Got to see the infamous Crown Royale shaped pool where the Stanley Cup was DENTED. http://www.hookedonhockeymagazine.com/dallas-stars-and-the-mystery-dent-in-the-stanley-cup/

DSC03259.JPG

DSC03260.JPG

What it looked like during the day.

IMG00056.jpg

So much drinking took place that I don't remember Vinnie interacting with us much as we all played around in his Rockstar pad. He passed out on the couch while Dime and I took photos around him passed out on his couch.

DSC03265.JPG

DSC03266.JPG

THIS, BY FAR, is my MOST favorite pic I took that night, it lives in my head.

DSC03267.JPG

I hung out with Dime regularly for the next year, and didn't run into Vinnie again until Damageplan was at the Nokia Center in October 2004. My wife and I were backstage and Dime called us up to run around onstage during Damageplan's "Walk" rendition closing out their set. Check out this video I found from an audience member from that night! My wife and I can be seen bouncing all around on stage! Vinnie thru his drumsticks in the air (at 3:31 mark in video) , hitting my wife in the head!

BUT, we can CLEARLY see her waving the stick dancing in victory later!

LindsayDrumstick.JPG

I'm in the black shirt, white printing with black hat backwards. I was awkward at my FIRST Heavy Metal concert!

I'm thankful I found this memory!

Later that night, I partied with the Dime crew and I wouldn't see Vinnie again until December 2004, after Dime was killed onstage.

I was performing at a comedy club in Fort Worth in late December and Vinnie came up to me after my show.

"My Brother LOVED you very much, ChinaMan." Vinnie's voice cracked.

"I loved him very much, too. I don't have many friends. He was one." I replied.

He reached into his pocket and pulled out a small handful of guitar picks. As he handed them to me, he said, "Dime had these printed to hand out at the NAMM Conference in January.... He loved you so much he printed your punchline on his picks. Will you make sure these get handed out?"

dimepick.JPG

dimepickback.JPG

Next time I would see Vinnie was during Super Bowl 2005. He invited us over and Bob Zilla (bassist for DamagePlan tatted me up AT VINNIE'S HOUSE with Dime's favorite "KidWoK" joke tat.

P2050031.JPG

Vinnie was downstairs ALL DAY cooking Philly Cheesesteaks for ALL the guests he had invited over. He ALWAYS cooks for everyone during the Super Bowls I later found out.

PB230001.JPG

View from Vinnie's house at sunset.

P2050023.JPG

Vinnie and I hung out quite a bit in 2005, mainly at his bar in Dallas and at his house afterward. Much alcohol and much partying was done! ONE THING I DID KNOW, Vinnie NEVER did ANY drugs! That's why, when I heard he had passed, it NEVER crossed my mind that he had overdosed on drugs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60315.45
ETH 2606.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53