Money and Happiness

in #vincentb7 years ago (edited)

I’m excited and thrilled after getting my brand new car. I’m very attached (addicted?) to my car, so I hardly ever think twice about throwing a few hundred bucks to get a new one. That said, I wouldn’t say that my car makes me pleased because the novelty will wears off rapidly. Additionally I don’t have any recollections tied to any of my previous cars that I had.The same is correct for most of the clothes that you may purchase at a store.

Why Doesn’t Stuff Make Us completely satisfied?

There’s nothing improper with buying clothes or jewelry, however research says that experiential purchases don’t bring extra happiness. Do not forget that impulsive shopping binge of clothes . You often received plenty of pleasure out of these them at the start, however that happiness wears off because the novelty fades away.

There is a powerful link between happiness and need based purchases, notably when those purchases are tied to a need. Binge purchases are less prone to generate happiness and we will regret them later. This applies to all big purchases and small ones.

Instead, invest in an Experience:

Think about the fun trip/vacation you took last time. Before the trip, you searched for the details your destination, talked about your plan with your friends, and bragged to your colleagues about this trip. You can also extract happiness from lower cost experiences, like a date, visiting your friends far away or by thinking about how great it will be to relax with your significant other etc.

Sort:  

But most times there is a great disconnect between money and happiness. The first place to prosper is your Spirit.

I agree. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65844.70
ETH 3445.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68