Upgrades and Fallout!

in #vimmtv6 years ago

thumbnail

Upgrades and Fallout!

Category: gaming
Sub-category: Fallout 76

Click here to watch the live stream!


The Rig

MSI Trident 3 i5-7400 with 8 GB of RAM, 1 TB 2.5" HDD and a GTX 1050 2GB.

This is what I am/was working with. My last stream, my computer wasn't having it anymore. It was lag city. I even cut the stream earlier than I planned because there's just no reason to keep streaming the lag. It wasn't happening before, but I knew my PC was struggling. One thing I failed to remember was that I upgraded the RAM on my old rig, not this newer one (I got it on Dec. 14 last year).

So I know I want to stream, it's something I've always enjoyed doing even though I never found much success in it. Streaming for cryptocurrency is probably the coolest things I can think of doing besides agate hunting, but it's much cold much wow out there and after a week working outside I just don't feel like standing out there today.

So I spent the day yesterday doing some upgrades. I am still not 100% satisfied but I think it'll do for now. I wasn't trying to wait for what I felt could be an immediate fix while I order the rest but I certainly still have some more upgradin' to do, Lucy.

More Ram and an SSD.

ram.jpg
RAM was my biggest issue. With 8 GB and about 5 GB being used with no game open I realized I was bottlenecking the crap out of my pc so I called around for a Kingston 8GB SO-DIMM DDR4 2400 Mhz to match the kingston I already had. The first store only had crucial and the second store had just what I needed so I went and picked it up. I could have found it about 40% cheaper online but whatever.

ssd1.jpg

Next up was the SSD and it was already 4:30 and the store closed at 6. I spent about an hour trying to figure out where the hard drive was in my little rig cause it was hidden under the video card. After hunting down the disassembly guide for my rig I realized it was capable of holding two hard drives. For such a small machine, I was impressed. I thought I was going to have to replace the 2.5 HDD with an SSD but there was an open slot for an m.2. Found an m.2 500 GB SSD that fit just right. I got back home at 5:39 from the store only to realize I was missing a screw but I was able to go back and get it just in time.

I still have to load windows onto the SSD but for now I just loaded my games onto it for testing. I realize I'm not getting the best performance out of the SSD without the OS being installed on it but it was still worth the test for me and everything is indeed loading much faster.

Need More Upgrades

The 1050 is handling things just fine in my opinion but I could stand for something better, so a 1050Ti is in the line-up. Small upgrade but significant enough to make things run better. I just need to make sure it fits this thing and if I would need a bigger power supply.

The more important upgrade I need to make is the CPU. the i5-7400 is just not cutting it, and the only other CPU I can put on this thing is an i7-7700, so I will be getting one of those ASAP and will definitely come before the GPU unless I get my stream machine going.

No more Lag Maybe? Fallout 76 / ARK / Battlefield 5 / Maybe even some PUBG

I'm goin to start with some Fallout 76 but I played ARK last night with some browser windows and livestreams open to see what my PC could handle. The Game, OBS and maybe 3 browser windows (vimm/dlive/twitch) but I really need to streamline my overlay to include all 3 chats. If I don't have to have chrome open, I will be 100% lag free for any of my games guaranteed, but I was able to play ARK flawlessly so I'm certain Fallout 76 will be just fine.

I made a little progress on ARK and established a small base behind the scenes, so I am looking forward to streaming that but I really want to check out some Fallout 76 today. It was a tough decision after grinding all night on ARK and if I get bored I'll switch to ARK. Since I am mostly testing the games to see how they do there's a good chance I'll be switching between Fallout 76 and ARK, but I won't push a new post I'll just edit the tag if I do.

Incase you missed the stream, you can catch replays of my last streams below!
https://www.twitch.tv/bitcoinfiend
https://dlive.tv/bitfiend

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Please Consider @comedyopenmic for witness!

Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes! Curate, Participate, Donate, Delegate!
Click The Banner Below To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner


This post was generated from a live stream on Vimm.tv

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77