vimm.tv needs more support from the comunity!

in #vimm5 years ago (edited)


I stopped watching regular TV and movies eons ago. I got tired of the same kind of shows, the same acting and the same plots.

For me TV shows got highly predictable, it didn't matter what kind of show I was watching. I felt like the acting, the characters, the archetypes, the situations the characters went through and even the plots were recycled from other shows. I know it sounds weird but that's how I felt.

Then Youtube appeared, and with it, the vlogging phenomenon. It was refreshing seeing regular people just talking about whatever issue or topic they wanted to talk about plus the chance to interact with them and other users.

Then came the video streaming services, now people could literally go live from home like any TV station. Sites like Twitch appeared and there was a whole new world of possibilities.

At the beginning there were only video games streamers but as time passed, new kind of streamers appeared: IRL, chatting, etc.

The Censorship

The dream could not last longer. Big media corporations saw the danger this new online video services were already doing to their monopoly so they did whatever they could to protect themselves.

Cease and desist letters and copyright law sues went left and right threatening everyone so sites like Youtube, Twitch and others had to implement and enforce measures that in many cases were a blatant act of censorship.

All this added to the political leaning the big tech companies were already taking made impossible for many user to keep making content without feeling that at anytime their channel would be stroked with a copyright or "not appropriate content" claim wiping out their entire channels losing years of work.

The Alternatives

Due to the aforementioned problems, other services emerged with different approaches. Sites like the now defunct VIDME (I'm still mourning it), DLive (pretty famous now because of PewDiePie) developed new strategies to rise their money from like merchandising, paid special features, donations or mining their own crypto currencies like Steemit's d.Tube.

Vimm.tv: Steemit's video streaming site

Vimm.tv is the video streaming site that mines and accepts steems as its crypto currency of choice. A site that in my opinion delivers a very high quality video streaming service with a very lightweight and easy to use interface.

I don't know how new or old Vimm.tv is or why the streaming service was not integrated in the d.tube platform from the beginning but as far as I have seen, lacks a lot of support from the Steemit's community.

I'm looking at the Vimm.TV's website as I write this post and there is only twelve channels streaming right now! and, as per people connected whatching those streams, the one with more viewers has only three people watching it.

The Vimm.tv platform is great, I really like it but in order to make it work we need to support it. But how? you may ask, well first by watching those streams and sharing them with your friends around the internet just like you share the last meme about Avengers: Endgame and second by opening your own channel and becoming a streamer yourself, that way you would attract more people, better if you're a well known Steemer, d.tuber or Youtuber.

As for now I opened my first Vimm.tv channel which you can visit at anytime. I'm planning to begging streaming soon.

Do you have a Vimm.tv channel? Leave the link in the comments and let me know, I can make a directory of Vimm.tv channel to make it easy for the people to have access to your channels.

I have other ideas to make Vimm.tv great but I'll talk about them on another post but if you have your own ideas to make Vimm.tv popular share them with us in the comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32