You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Onboarding millions of users

in #viewly7 years ago (edited)

More infos from View.ly are always welcome. Please post more often.

The suggested system is the same that LBRY uses, isn't it? What happens when I do heavy SEO on a link and then I loose the link to someone with more money. That person will be super happy for getting all my hard work SEO links and boosts his channel for doing nothing else as vesting money away for a while. In fact one could argue, that you should wait until a channel reaches a certain size and then you outbid the name and get all the free traffic with it. Do I see that wrong?

Sort:  

If this is indeed what would happen it would make sense to invest to obtain a profitable name after someone else has made it profitable.

I hope I am wrong. @furion could you explain this further please?

You have a good point here. Would a grace period on name owner switch help?

Alternatively, we could use immutable ID's as resource links for google, and only have the premium names as redirects.

You have a good point here. Would a grace period on name owner switch help?
I don't think that would make much of a difference. SEO is usually a long term strategy.
Alternatively, we could use immutable ID's as resource links for google, and only have the premium names as redirects.

I am no expert in SEO but I assume that would be a better solution. Of course the premium URL will per se have a better SEO because of the name but it would only be a marginal factor I guess when a link is using proper alt-atribution.

I agree that this is a problem as someone who has spent the last few years building a brand...I've had experiences on youtube with fake channels calling themselves "An American Homestead" uploading my videos and then had to prove I was the real one. We need permanent verification. I'm not worried. In fact, I'm very much encouraged as you have to start somewhere and discussions like this help make it better. Getting it up and operational was the first big step.

Can we yet upload vids larger than 100mb? Recording in 720p allows me only to talk for about 2 minutes before I'm over that limit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83