Started out as a war refugee.

in #vietnam7 years ago

My backstory goes like this. A war called the Vietnam War, a Navy Lieutenant , a Vietnamese woman, an emergency evacuation because the war effort was losing, a ride on a Marine Corps helicopter, and then tent city in Camp Pendleton. I arrived in 1975 with my mom and a suitcase. We were the first wave of Vietnamese refugees in early 1975. Back then Americans , strangers, would sponsor the refugees and teach them how to navigate the American culture. So that's what happened for us. They were some of the kindest people I can remember. Fast forward to my turning 18 and enlisting in the Marine Corps. I chose the Marine Corps because they were the ones who helped me to America. And because they have magnificent uniforms, let's be honest. I have had a great career because of my training in the Marine Corps as a radio technician. I worked until I was a senior integrations engineer with the nation's main cellular companies. It was not fun losing that hard earned job. My job went overseas so I loved to Reno to be near my mother again. We are both getting older and have spent many years apart. I then found out that Tesla is starting a factory here. So that's what I am up to now, changing the way we view energy and vehicles, trying to make the world greener.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tango2017! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tango2017! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58666.46
ETH 2281.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46